Ranji Trophy wrap: Akshdeep, Priyam power UP; Manipur claws back

Centuries by Akshdeep Nath and Priyam Garg powered Uttar Pradesh to 257 for 4 while in the Plate Group, Manipur staged a comeback after being bowled out for 85.

Akshdeep Nath scored a century as UP reached 257 for 4 on day one.   -  Special Arrangement

Riding on the centuries of captain Akshdeep Nath and Priyam Garg, Uttar Pradesh dominated the opening day of its Ranji trophy Group C encounter against Tripura on Saturday.

At stumps, Uttar Pradesh was 257 for 4 with Garg and Rinku Singh batting on 113 and 13 respectively.

Read: Himachal seamers impress, as Tamil Nadu batsmen falter

Uttar Pradesh opted to bat first and was off to a jittery start - losing three wickets on 21. Nath and Garg anchored the Uttar Pradesh innings with a 201 runs partnership. Nath’s 106 off 216 balls was studded with 12 boundaries and two sixes while Garg, who remained unbeaten on 113, hit 12 fours and one six.

For Tripura, Dutta and Saurabh Das both picked two wickets each.

Manipur bounces back

In Plate Group, Manipur bounced back after being bowled out for 85 to take firm control against Arunachal Pradesh on a day where 23 wickets fell.

A seaming track at the Jadavpur University Salt Lake Campus on offer, Manipur crashed to 85 all out after being put in to bat. Deendyal Upadhyay (5/38) was the wrecker-in-chief as the Manipur’s innings folded inside the first session.

Also read: Nischal, Siddharth fifties save the day for Karnataka

In reply, Arunchal Pradesh was skittled out for 66 inside the second session with Thokchom Singh (5/16) and Bishworjit Konthoujam (4/27) sharing nine wickets between them to hand the side a slender 19-run lead.

Manipur batted sensibly in its second innings, ending the day on 192 for 3 with an overall 211-run lead. At close, opener Hrithik Kanojia was unbeaten on 79 with KP Singh on 18.

Brief scores:

Group A:

At Mumbai: Mumbai 334 for five in 89 overs (Jay Bista 127, Vikrant Auti 57, Siddhesh Lad 84 batting) v Saurashtra; Toss: Saurashtra.

At Shivamogga: Karnataka 208 for nine in 89 overs (D. Nischal 52, K.V. Siddharth 69) vs. Railways; Toss: Railways.

At Nagpur: Gujarat 263 for six in 90 overs (Kathan Patel 105, Dhruv Raval 69) v Vidarbha; Toss: Gujarat.

At Raipur: Maharashtra 239 in 68.3 overs (Rahul Tripathi 102, Anupam Sanklecha 66, Vishal Kushwah four for 59) vs. Chattisgarh 23 for three in 10 overs; Toss: Maharashtra.

Group B:

At New Delhi: Madhya Pradesh 132 for nine in 51 overs (Vikas Mishra six for 41) vs. Delhi; Toss: Delhi.

At Dharamsala: Tamil Nadu 227 in 78.4 overs (B. Aparajith 53, Abhishek Tanwar 44) vs. Himachal Pradesh 25 for one in five overs; Toss: Tamil Nadu.

At Hyderabad: Hyderabad 240 for seven in 90 overs (Tanmay Agarwal 60, Akshath Reddy 77, Himalay Agarwal 51 batting) vs. Punjab; Toss: Hyderabad.

At Visakhapatnam: Bengal 194 for six in 78 overs (Manoj Tiwary 90) vs. Andhra; Toss: Andhra.

Group C:

At Jammu: Jammu & Kashmir 127 in 53.3 overs (Owais Shah 44, Suryakant Pradhan four for 27) vs. Odisha 91 for one in 34 overs (Anurag Sangi 56 batting); Toss: J&K.

At Jaipur: Haryana 118 in 36.2 overs (Harshal Patel 53, Aniket Choudhary five for 45) vs. Rajasthan 171 for two in 50.2 overs (Chetan Bist 61, Mahipal Lomror 75 batting); Toss: Rajasthan.

At Lucknow: Uttar Pradesh 257 for four in 86 overs (Akshdeep Nath 106, Priyam Garg 113 batting) v Tripura; Toss: Uttar Pradesh.

Plate Group:

At Patna: Bihar 150 in 46.1 overs (Harsh Singh 48 not out, Rachit Bhatia six for 44) vs. Nagaland 101 for four in 41 overs; Toss: Nagaland.

At Guwahati: Assam 175 in 50.2 overs (Biplab Saikia 41, Lakshay Garg five for 73) vs. Goa 66 for three in 32 overs; Toss: Goa.

At Ranchi: Jharkhand 193 in 66 overs (Kumar Deobrat 48, Ishan Kishan 68) vs. Services 48 for two in 18 overs; Toss: Services.

At Kolkata: Manipur 85 in 26 overs (Deendayal five for 38) vs. Arunachal Pradesh 66 in 26.3 overs (Th Kishan five for 16, Bishworjit four for 27); Toss: Arunachal Pradesh.

At Puducherry: No play in the match against Uttarakhand.

For more updates, follow Sportstar on :