Fastest to 1000 ODI World Cup runs: Rohit Sharma equals David Warner’s record in 19 innings

ICC ODI World Cup 2023: Here is the list of players who were the fastest to reach the mark of 1000 runs in the tournament.

Published : Oct 08, 2023 13:29 IST , CHENNAI - 1 MIN READ

India’s captain Rohit Sharma.
India’s captain Rohit Sharma. | Photo Credit: AP

India’s captain Rohit Sharma. | Photo Credit: AP

The 13th edition of the ICC ODI World Cup got underway on October 5 and early signs hint that batters are going to dominate.


During India’s match against Australia in Chennai, David Warner reached the milestone in 19 innings to break the previous record, held jointly by Sachin Tendulkar and AB de Villiers, who got to the milestone in 20 innings.

India captain Rohit Sharma then equalled Warner’s feat in the second match against Afghanistan in Delhi.

Fastest 1000 Runs in ODI World Cup (Inns)

Player Span Innings
Rohit Sharma (IND) 2015-2023 (3) 19
David Warner (AUS) 2015-2023 (3) 19
Sachin Tendulkar (IND) 1992-2011 (6) 20
AB de Villiers (SA) 2007-2015 (3) 20
Viv Richards (WI) 1975-1987 (4) 21
Saurav Ganguly (IND) 1999-2007 (3) 21
Mark Waugh (AUS) 1992-1999 (3) 22
Sign in to unlock all user benefits
  • Get notified on top games and events
  • Save stories to read later
  • Access to comment on every story
  • Sign up / manage to our newsletters with a single click
  • Get notified by email for early bird access to discounts & offers to our products
Sign in


Comments have to be in English, and in full sentences. They cannot be abusive or personal. Please abide to our community guidelines for posting your comment