Indian squad for 2022 Women's World Cup: Ekta, Jemimah out; Renuka in

Left-arm spinner Ekta Bisht, opening batter Jemimah Rodrigues, and fast bowler Shikha Pandey are not included in the 15-member squad for the Women's World Cup.

Published : Jan 06, 2022 10:15 IST , NEW DELHI

The 2022 edition will be Mithali Raj's fifth World Cup.
The 2022 edition will be Mithali Raj's fifth World Cup.

The 2022 edition will be Mithali Raj's fifth World Cup.

Opening batter Jemimah Rodrigues was on Thursday dropped from the 15-member India squad announced for the ICC Women's World Cup, 2022.

Mithali Raj will captain the team and Harmanpreet Kaur will be vice-captain.

The squad expectedly includes Smriti Mandhana, Deepti Sharma, Jhulan Goswami and the young Shafali Verma, among others.

However, Rodrigues and all-rounder Shikha Pandey have been ignored from due to lack of form: a BCCI source confirmed to PTI that the two have been "dropped" on account of their form in the ODI format.

Women's World Cup, 2022 - Full schedule, dates, venues and timetable

Rodrigues failed to score in double digits during the last year in all her international assignments, but she was in good touch during The Hundred in England and the subsequent Big Bash League in Australia. Pandey was similarly off-colour during her national duties.

Two wicketkeepers

In Richa Ghosh and Taniya Bhatia, India has included two wicketkeepers for the tour, while S. Meghana, Ekta Bisht and Simran Dil Bahadur have been named as three stand-by players.

The same 15-member squad will also feature in a five-ODI series against New Zealand from February 11 to 24.

India will open its World Cup campaign against arch-rival Pakistan on March 6 at the Bay Oval, Tauranga before facing host New Zealand on March 10 at Hamilton, followed by the West Indies (March 12, Hamilton), defending champion England (March 16, Tauranga), Australia (March 19, Auckland), Bangladesh (March 22, Hamilton) and South Africa (March 27, Christchurch).

In the last edition of the tournament in 2017, India lose to England in the title clash.

In a meeting held on Wednesday, the All India Women's Selection Committee also named a 16-member squad to be led by Harmanpreet Kaur for the lone T20 International against New Zealand to be played on February 9 before the ODIs.

The one-off T20 and the first ODI against New Zealand will be hosted by Napier, followed by remaining 50-over games in Nelson on February 14 and 16, and Queenstown on February 22 and 24.

Sign in to unlock all user benefits
  • Get notified on top games and events
  • Save stories to read later
  • Access to comment on every story
  • Sign up / manage to our newsletters with a single click
  • Get notified by email for early bird access to discounts & offers to our products
Sign in


Comments have to be in English, and in full sentences. They cannot be abusive or personal. Please abide to our community guidelines for posting your comment