Sri Lanka included Wanindu Hasaranga and Maheesh Theekshana, recently back from playing in the Indian Premier League (IPL), in its side for the first Twenty20 against Australia on Tuesday as it look to test the visitor with spin.

Batters Pathum Nissanka and Kusal Mendis were also named in the Dasun Shanaka-led team to face the world champion in Colombo in the first game of the three-match series.

Among the notable omissions was young quick Matheesha Pathirana, who caught the eye playing for Chennai Super Kings in the IPL.

ALSO READ | Australia's tour to give Sri Lanka Cricket a financial boost

Australia announced its team on Monday, sticking with the three-pronged pace attack that led them to the World Cup last year. Kane Richardson was chosen alongside Mitchell Starc and Josh Hazlewood with Ashton Agar selected as the sole spinner.

Sri Lanka suffered a 4-1 series loss to Australia earlier this year.