Having earned a win in a last-ball thriller, something that K.L. Rahul’s outfit failed to do consistently in the latter half of IPL 2020, Punjab Kings will return to Wankhede Stadium as a much more confident unit against Chennai Super Kings on Friday.

The Super Kings will be keen on getting their act together to open the account. They need to get the combination right to attain the desired results. But Mahendra Singh Dhoni’s men will be far from fielding the ideal combination, with pace duo of Lungi Ngidi and Jason Behrendorff missing out due to mandatory quarantine period after travel.

READ|IPL 2021: Delhi Capitals names Shams Mulani as short-term COVID-19 replacement for Axar Patel; Joshi replaces Iyer

It will be interesting to see if the Super Kings accommodate Imran Tahir, the veteran leggie, to bolster the bowling department. The lack of wicket-taking options, especially with the dew at the Wankhede Stadium making life difficult for finger spinners, was one of the vital aspects of Super Kings’ inability to defend a total of 188 in its opener against Delhi Capitals.

READ|Umpires got it right: SRH coach Bayliss on Harshal's full toss no-ball

Punjab Kings, despite starting the tournament with a narrow win against Rajasthan Royals, will be hoping that their new signings - Jhye Richardson and Riley Meredith - will adapt to bowling with a wet ball after conceding 104 runs off their eight overs combined.


Chennai Super Kings: Mahendra Singh Dhoni (c & wk), Suresh Raina, Ambati Rayudu, KM Asif, Deepak Chahar, Dwayne Bravo, Faf du Plessis, Imran Tahir, N Jagadeesan, Karn Sharma, Lungi Ngidi, Mitchell Santner, Ravindra Jadeja, Ruturaj Gaikwad, Shardul Thakur, Sam Curran, R Sai Kishore, Moeen Ali, K Gowtham, Cheteshwar Pujra, Harishankar Reddy, Bhagath Varma, C Hari Nishaanth.

Punjab Kings: KL Rahul (c & wk), Mayank Agarwal, Chris Gayle, Mandeep Singh, Prabsimran Singh, Nicholas Pooran (wk), Sarfaraz Khan, Deepak Hooda, Murugan Ashwin, Ravi Bishnoi, Harpreet Brar, Mohammed Shami, Arshdeep Singh, Ishan Porel, Darshan Nalkande, Chris Jordan, Dawid Malan, Jhye Richardson, Shahrukh Khan, Riley Meredith, Moises Henriques, Jalaj Saxena, Utkarsh Singh, Fabian Allen, Saurabh Kumar.

Match starts at 7:30 PM