Women's T20 Challenge: Must-win game for Supernovas

Velocity skipper Mithali Raj will not be too pleased with the side's laboured win over Trailblazers earlier in the week and will look to cement a spot in the final with a win on Thursday.

Harmanpreet Kaur

Supernovas will look for a win to stay alive in the Women's T20 Challenge 2019. (The Hindu)   -  V.V.Krishnan

The Women’s T20 Challenge is nicely poised going into the final match of the league phase, in which Supernovas takes on Velocity at the Sawai Mansingh Stadium on Thursday.

Both teams are in with a chance to qualify for the final.

Harmanpreet’s Supernovas has to win tonight if it has to harbour any hopes of making it to the final, afetr losing a thriller opening encounter to Trailblazers.

However, Smriti Mandhana’s girls were brought down to the ground by Velocity in Wednesday’s match.

READ | Women's T20 Challenge: Velocity survive panic to earn win over Trailblazers

Mithali will not be pleased with the way her team fumbled to a three-wicket win.

Chasing a meagre 113, the team lost five wickets in seven balls, without adding run, when just two were needed.

Had it not been for the abysmal fielding that cost the Trailblazers two matches in a row, Velocity would have struggled even harder to cross the line.

READ | 15-year-old Shafali Verma, a Tendulkar fan, makes a mark in Women's T20 Challenge 2019

The major takeaway from the first two matches ought to be the batting.

Smriti, Harmanpreet, Harleen Deol, Danielle Wyatt and the 15-year-old Shafali Verma all chipped in with spirited performances, amply entertaining the Jaipur crowd.


The teams

Supernovas: Harmanpreet Kaur (captain), Anuja Patil, Arundhati Reddy, Chamari Atapattu, Jemimah Rodrigues, Lea Tahuhu, Mansi Joshi, Natalie Sciver, Poonam Yadav, Priya Punia, Radha Yadav, Sophie Devine, Taniya Bhatia (wicketkeeper).

Velocity: Mithali Raj (captain), Amelia Kerr, Danielle Wyatt, Devika Vaidya, Ekta Bisht, Hayley Matthews, Jahanara Alam, Komal Zhanzad, Shafali Verma, Shikha Pandey, Sushma Verma (wicketkeeper), Sushree Pradhan, Veda Krishnamurthy.


For more updates, follow Sportstar on :