Lynn, Stanlake to make ODI debuts as Maxwell returns

Chris Lynn will bat at number four, with Travis Head to open the batting alongside David Warner after Aaron Finch was axed.

Chris Lynn Australia v Pakistan ODI series debut

Big-hitting batsman Chris Lynn will make his ODI debut for Australia in the series five-match series against Pakistan.

Chris Lynn and Billy Stanlake will make their debuts in the opening One-Day International against Pakistan in Brisbane, while all-rounder Glenn Maxwell returns.

Captain Steve Smith confirmed Australia's XI for Friday's ODI at the Gabba, with batsman Lynn and towering paceman Stanlake named along with Maxwell as Usman Khawaja and Adam Zampa missed out.

Lynn has played five T20 internationals for Australia but the Brisbane Heat star will make his ODI bow at the Gabba having scored 309 runs in the Big Bash League this season, including a breathtaking unbeaten 98 last week.

Read: >Blow for Pakistan as Sarfraz leaves Australia tour

The 26-year-old will bat at number four, with Travis Head to open the batting alongside David Warner after Aaron Finch was axed.

"He's got a licence to play the way he wants to play," Smith said. "But 50 overs is a long time so you've also got be a bit smarter with the way you play, but he's got some freedom to go out and play nice and positively. He's been a bit stiff and sore in the last couple of days but he's confident he'll be able to play and do well.

"He's been in red hot form and hopefully he can bring that to the international stage.

"I've watched him in the nets in the last couple of days and he's hit the ball hard and well so hopefully he can do the same for us." 

Fellow debutant Stanlake, 22, will team up with quicks Mitchell Starc and Pat Cummins, and pace all-rounders James Faulkner and Mitchell Marsh, despite playing just four 50-over matches for Queensland.

Maxwell, who can bowl spin, is set to make his first appearance in 13 matches after leg-spinner Zampa - last year's leading wicket-taker in ODIs - was left out of the side.

Friday's contest is the first of five ODIs following Australia's Test series whitewash of Pakistan.

Australia: David Warner, Travis Head, Steve Smith (c), Chris Lynn, Mitchell Marsh, Glenn Maxwell, Matthew Wade, James Faulkner, Pat Cummins, Mitchell Starc, Billy Stanlake

Pakistan: Azhar Ali(c), Sharjeel Khan, Babar Azam, Shoaib Malik, Asad Shafiq, Umar Akmal, Mohammad Rizwan, Imad Wasim, Mohammad Nawaz, Mohammad Amir, Wahab Riaz, Hasan Ali, Rahat Ali, Mohammad Irfan, Sarfraz Ahmed, Mohammad Hafeez

For more updates, follow Sportstar on :