Syed Mushtaq Ali T20: Deshpande, Nayak and Attarwala added to Mumbai squad

Mumbai will begin its Syed Mushtaq Ali T20 campaign with a Group D encounter against Mizoram at the Wankhede Stadium on Friday.

Tushar Deshpande has been added to Mumbai's T20 squad for the upcoming Syed Mushtaq Ali tournament.   -  M. A. Sriram

Following the non-inclusion of India A seamer Tushar Deshpande in the Mumbai team for the Syed Mushtaq Ali T20 Trophy tournament, the Mumbai Cricket Association (MCA) constituted an ad hoc senior selection committee comprising Milind Rege (Chairman), Guru Gupte and Shridhar Mandale.

The ad hoc committee was constituted after the MCA President Vijay Patil had a meeting with the previous five-member selection committee that included Sanjay Patil and Pradeep Kasliwal.

A statement from the MCA Secretary Sanjay Naik said that the ad hoc committee will remain in place until a proper senior selection committee is constituted after the Annual General Meeting.

The ad hoc committee met here on Wednesday and added three more players — Deshpande, Sujit Nayak and Atif Attarwala — to the 15 member team announced last Monday.

Mumbai plays Mizoram in its first Group `D’ league match at the Wankhede Stadium on Friday.

The squad for the first three matches: Suryakumar Yadav (Captain), Jay Bista, Aditya Tare, Sarfaraz Khan, Jaideep Pardeshi, Siddhesh Lad, Shubham Ranjane, Shams Mulani, Parikshit Valsangkar, Raunaq Sharma, Dhaval Kulkarni, Kruthik Hangewadi, Deepak Shetty, Aquib Qureshi, Dhrumil Matkar, Tushar Deshpande, Sujit Nayak, Atif Attarwala.

Support Sportstar

Dear Reader,

Support our journalism — where text and pictures intermingle so seamlessly — and help us scale up your experience as the world changes around us. Your contribution is vital to our brand of uninfluenced, boots-on-the-ground reportage that’s worth your while. Clickbait sensationalism is not for us, but editorial independence is — we owe it to you.

Read the Free eBook

  Dugout videos