Pakistan's Mohammad Amir recalled for South Africa Twenty20s

Mohammad Amir, the left-arm fast bowler, finds a spot in the 15-man squad selected for the three-match series next month.

Published : Jan 26, 2019 17:03 IST , Karachi

Mohammad Amir's last Twenty20 International was in July, 2018. Photo: AFP
Mohammad Amir's last Twenty20 International was in July, 2018. Photo: AFP

Mohammad Amir's last Twenty20 International was in July, 2018. Photo: AFP

Pakistan recalled fast bowler Mohammad Amir in the 15-man squad for next month’s three-match Twenty20 series against South Africa, while recent top performers missed out on selection.

The 26-year-old left-armer was left out of the limited-over and Test squads after a poor showing in last year’s Asia Cup, but was brought back into both for the ongoing tour of South Africa. Pakistan thrashed both Australia and New Zealand 3-0 in Twenty20 matches in the United Arab Emirates last year — though Amir did not take part in either series.

Pakistan, which is currently playing a five-match one-day series in South Africa, will play Twenty20 matches in Cape Town on February 1, Johannesburg on February 3, and at Centurion on February 6.

Domestic performers miss out

Khurram Manzoor, Rizwan Hussain and Salman Butt — who amassed the most runs in Pakistan’s National Twenty20 Cup held last month — all missed out on places. The Cup’s top wicket-takers — Amad Butt, Umaid Asif and Mohammad Irfan — were also overlooked.

Read | Sarfraz apologises to Phehlukwayo in person for racial taunt

Pakistan is ranked No. 1 in Twenty20 Internationals and has won nine consecutive matches as well as a world record 17 out of 19 T20Is it played last year.

Imam-ul-Haq, Mohammad Rizwan and Shan Masood will return to the team after featuring in the one-day series.

Pakistan’s chief selector Inzamam-ul-Haq said the selection was focused on this year’s ICC Cricket World Cup and the Twenty20 World Cup to be held next year. “We need to give as much exposure and experience to our up and coming players as possible, but without compromising on the assignments in hand,” he said.

  • Sarfraz Ahmed (c), Asif Ali, Babar Azam, Faheem Ashraf, Fakhar Zaman, Hasan Ali, Hussain Talat, Imad Wasim, Mohammad Amir, Mohammad Hafeez, Sahibzada Farhan, Shadab Khan, Shaheen Afridi, Shoaib Malik, Usman Shinwari.
Sign in to unlock all user benefits
  • Get notified on top games and events
  • Save stories to read later
  • Access to comment on every story
  • Sign up / manage to our newsletters with a single click
  • Get notified by email for early bird access to discounts & offers to our products
Sign in


Comments have to be in English, and in full sentences. They cannot be abusive or personal. Please abide to our community guidelines for posting your comment