AFC Cup: Chennaiyin FC includes fit-again Dhanpal Ganesh in squad

The 2017-18 ISL champion takes on Colombo FC in the AFC Cup 2019 qualifying playoff match.

Published : Mar 01, 2019 18:01 IST , Chennai

Dhanpal Ganesh missed the entire ISL season due to injury.
Dhanpal Ganesh missed the entire ISL season due to injury.

Dhanpal Ganesh missed the entire ISL season due to injury.

Chennaiyin FC, the two-time Indian Super League (ISL) champion, has named fit-again Dhanpal Ganesh in its 25-man squad for the AFC Cup 2019 qualifying playoff match against Sri Lanka’s Colombo FC, on March 6, 2019.

Ganesh had missed the entire ISL season due to a knee injury.

This would be Chennaiyin FC’s debut AFC Cup campaign following its 2017-18 success in the ISL. It is placed in the South Asian zone of the competition. This qualifying tie against Colombo FC, which defeated Bhutan’s Transport United in the preliminary round, is for a place in the group stage of the 2019 AFC Cup.

Chennaiyin’s home leg will be played in Ahmedabad on March 13, 2019.

Australian Chris Herd, who joined Chennaiyin FC in the transfer window in January, will be the club’s Asian player in the qualifier. The Brazilian trio of Mailson Alves, Eli Sabia and Raphael Augusto are the other three foreigners. Four youth team players have also been included in the squad. Defender Hendry Antonay (U-18 & B team) and midfielder Zonunmawia (B team), who were also part of the 2018-19 ISL first team squad, are joined by defender Reamsochung Aimol (B team) and forward Bawlte Rohmingthanga (B team).

Following the 1-0 defeat away to FC Goa in its final 2018-19 ISL fixture on Thursday, Chennaiyin will continue its AFC Cup preparations in Goa and leave for Sri Lanka on Monday, March 4.

  • Goalkeepers: Karanjit Singh, Sanjiban Ghosh, Nikhil Bernard
  • Defenders: Mailson Alves (Brazil), Eli Sabia (Brazil), Zohmingliana Ralte, Jerry Lalrinzuala, Laldinliana Renthlei, Tondonba Singh, Hendry Antonay, Reamsochung Aimol
  • Midfielders: Chris Herd (Australia), Anirudh Thapa, Germanpreet Singh, Dhanpal Ganesh, Raphael Augusto (Brazil), Thoi Singh, Francisco Fernandes, Isaac Vanmalsawma, Halicharan Narzary, Zonunmawia
  • Forwards: Jeje Lalpekhlua, C. K. Vineeth, Mohammed Rafi, Bawlte Rohmingthanga.
Sign in to unlock all user benefits
  • Get notified on top games and events
  • Save stories to read later
  • Access to comment on every story
  • Sign up / manage to our newsletters with a single click
  • Get notified by email for early bird access to discounts & offers to our products
Sign in


Comments have to be in English, and in full sentences. They cannot be abusive or personal. Please abide to our community guidelines for posting your comment