Where were the Premier League-winning players 30 years ago?

Liverpool won its first English top-division championship in 30 years on Thursday. Let's take a look at where the winning players were three decades ago.

Published : Jun 26, 2020 02:56 IST

Liverpool has won its first ever Premier League title.
Liverpool has won its first ever Premier League title.

Liverpool has won its first ever Premier League title.

Manchester City's 1-2 loss at Chelsea on Thursday sealed Liverpool's Premier League title, its first league triumph in 30 years.

The last time it won the league was in 1989-90, under Kenny Dalglish — back when there was still a Soviet Union!

Here's a look at where, and how old, Jurgen Klopp and the players were at the time of the Reds' last league title.


With a relative young squad at Klopp's disposal, it is not surprising to note that only six players of the 29-man squad were born during the 1989-90 season.

Dejan Lovren and Jordan Henderson were almost an year old while the oldest then was reserve goal keeper Andrew Michael Lonergan - all of seven years old!

James Milner, Adrian and Adam Lallana are the other three players who were aged three, two and one year old respectively.

As for Klopp, he was still a professional footballer and spent the 1989-90 season with German club Rot-Weiss Frankfurt. He left the club at the end of the season to spend 11 years with Mainz 05 — before starting his coaching career with the same team.

Sign in to unlock all user benefits
  • Get notified on top games and events
  • Save stories to read later
  • Access to comment on every story
  • Sign up / manage to our newsletters with a single click
  • Get notified by email for early bird access to discounts & offers to our products
Sign in


Comments have to be in English, and in full sentences. They cannot be abusive or personal. Please abide to our community guidelines for posting your comment