FIFA Award night: Cristiano Ronaldo adjudged Best Player of the Year

Real Madrid head-coach Zinedine Zidane bags the Best Coach award while Juventus' Gianlugi Buffon is adjudged the Best Goalkeeper.

Real Madrid star Cristiano Ronaldo is adjudged FIFA Player Of The Year.   -  Getty Images

And it is Cristiano Ronaldo who bags the FIFA Men's Player of the Year Award.  He pips Lionel Messi and Neymar for the award.

Lieke Martens of Holland bags the prestigious award.

We've the FIFA Women's Player of the Year coming up in a short while.

Next up is a video montage of all the FIFA tournaments this year. The Club World Cup, U-20 World Cup and the Confederations Cup are showcased.

All of them are up on the stage receiving the awards.


The dream team is here. In a 4-3-3 combination. Gianluigi Buffon, Dani Alves, Marcelo, Sergio Ramos, Leonardo Bonucci, Luca Modric, Toni Kroos, Andeas Iniesta, Cristiano Ronaldo, Neymar and Lionel Messi.

Players from the FIFA World Team of the Year pose for an image.   -  Getty Images


Now it is time for the FIFA World Team of the Year.

Francis Kone wins the Fair Play Award.  He has saved the lives of different players (opponents) four times now.

Next up is Fair Play Award.

With Holland winning the Euro 2017, Sarina Wiegman wins Women's Coach of the Year award.

And it is Celtic, that wins the Best Fan Award.

The next up is Fans Awards. Samuel Eto’o announces the shortlist. Celtic, Borussia Dortmund and FC Copenhagen are up there.

Gianlugi Buffon wins the Best Goalkeeper award.

Juventus' Gianlugi Buffon won the Best Goalkeeper award.   -  Getty Images


Peter Schmeichel now announces the best goalkeeper awards. Gigi Bufon, Keylor Navas and Manuel Neuer are the candidates.

Zinedine Zidane wins Coach of the Year award. The Real coach thanks his wife and children and his best players — Ronaldo, Marcelo, Toni and Luca and a big thanks to Madrid.

Real Madrid head-coach Zinedine Zidane won the Coach of the Year award.   -  Getty Images


The Coach of the Year is next, and Claudio Ranieri will call this one. It is a tussle between Conte, Allegri and Zidane.


It is Olivier Giroud, who wins Ferenc Puskas award for goal of the year. "It’s an honour,” says Giroud.

The first award of the night is the Ferenc Puskas award for goal of the year. Olivier Giroud for his scorpion kick, Kevin-Price Boateng, Mario Mandzukic and Nemanja Matic are the shortlists.


We are all set for the FIFA Awards night. Let's see who wins what?

For more updates, follow Sportstar on :