ISL 2020 playoffs: All you need to know

The Indian Super League 2019-20 playoffs begin on February 29. Here's all you need to know about the final stage of the ISL.

The final of the current edition of the Indian Super League will be played at the Fatorda, Goa on 14th March.   -  Special arrangement

With the league stages done, the Indian Super League (ISL) season six now moves into the playoffs with FC Goa, ATK, Bengaluru FC and Chennaiyin FC in the hunt for the tite.

Here's all you need to know about the playoffs.

What are the playoffs?

The playoffs will be a two-legged semifinal from which the two teams with the highest goal aggregate progress into the final to contest for the ISL title.

READ | Goa to host Indian Super League 2019-20 final

Do away goals count?

Yes, the ISL introduced the away goals rule for the playoffs from the 2017-18 season.

If the away goal rule cannot determine a winner, then the game will go to the extra time in the second leg.

The away goal rule will not apply in extra time and the team that scores the higher number of goals in extra time will win the semi-final.

If both teams score none or equal number of goals in extra time, the winner will be decided through the penalty shootout.

Will yellow card suspensions be carried forward in the playoffs?

Yellow cards and cautions accumulated from the league stage will not be carried forward to the playoffs.

However, a suspension resulting from a caution in a team's last league game will be applicable in the first-leg semifinal. As a result, Chennaiyin FC’s Tondonba Singh remains suspended for its home leg playoff.

In addition, if a player or team official receives a caution in both legs of its playoffs, he will be suspended for the final.

Which teams have qualified for the playoffs?

FC Goa, ATK, Bengaluru FC and Chennaiyin FC are the four teams in the playoffs after finishing in the top four in the league stages.

What are the playoff fixtures?

FC Goa by virtue of finishing top of the table will take on the fourth-placed Chennaiyin FC, while ATK will face Bengaluru FC, which finished third.

When and where will the matches be played?

The first leg of the semifinals will be played in Chennai on February 29 and in Bengaluru on March 1.

The second leg of the semifinals will be played in Goa on March 7 followed by the match in Kolkata on March 8.

29 February, 2019Chennaiyin FC vs FC Goa7.30 pmJawaharlal Nehru Stadium
1 March, 2019Bengaluru FC vs ATK7.30 pmSree Kanteerava Stadium
7 March, 2019FC Goa vs Chennaiyin FC7.30 pmFatorda Stadium (Jawaharlal Nehru Stadium)
8 March, 2019ATK vs Bengaluru FC7.30 pmSalt Lake Stadium


Where to watch the playoffs?

The matches will be telecast live on Stars Sports 2, Star Sports 2 HD, Star Sports 3, Star Sports 3 HD. They will also be streamed live on Hotstar.


When and where will the final be played?

The playoff final will be played in Fatorda Stadium, Goa on March 14.

For more updates, follow Sportstar on :