ISL: Looking back at the five finals

Ahead of the Indian Super League (ISL) 2020 final between two-time winners ATK and Chennaiyin, we look back at the five finals from the past seasons.

Published : Mar 13, 2020 14:19 IST

ATK has won the ISL twice -- clinching the trophy in 2014 and 2016.
ATK has won the ISL twice -- clinching the trophy in 2014 and 2016.

ATK has won the ISL twice -- clinching the trophy in 2014 and 2016.

Two-time champions Chennaiyin FC and ATK go head-to-head at the Fatorda Stadium in Goa for a record third Indian Super League (ISL) title.

Ahead of the ISL final, Sportstar looks back at the five finals from the past seasons.


The first final in ISL history was contested by Kerala Blasters and Atletico de Kolkata (now known as ATK) at the D. Y. Patil Stadium in Mumbai.

Mohammed Rafique, who had come on as a substitute, scored in the fifth minute of stoppage time to seal the title for the Kolkata club.


FC Goa and Chennaiyin FC went head-to-head in the 2015 final at the Fatorda Stadium in Goa. It was another season where the title was decided in the dying minutes of the game.

Goa’s Thongkosiem Haokip cancelled Bruno Pellisari’s opener before Jafre Mateu scored in the 87th minute to put the Gaurs ahead.

However, ‘keeper Laxmikant Kattimani’s own goal in the 90th minute put the teams back on level terms before Stiven Mendoza scored a minute later to give the Blues their first league title.


The 2016 final was a rematch between the season one finalists, played at the Nehru Stadium in Kochi, and the result remained unchanged.

While Atletico de Kolkata won the title for the second time, it had to do so via a penalty shootout after the game was tied at 1-1 in regulation time. Sameehg Dutie, Borja Fernandez, Javi Lara and Jewel Raja scored for ATK in the spot-kicks.


In its maiden ISL season, Bengaluru FC topped the table and won its playoff (against FC Pune City) to qualify for the final that was held at its home ground – Sree Kanteerava Stadium in Bengaluru.

However, for the second consecutive season, the team playing in its home ground lost the title as Chennaiyin came from behind to seal a 3-2 win, and a record-equalling second title.


Motivated by its debut season performances, Bengaluru went the distance this time by getting its first league title. Playing against FC Goa at the Mumbai Football Arena, Rahul Bheke scored the only goal of the game in the second half of extra time to condemn the Gaurs to a second ISL final defeat.

Sign in to unlock all user benefits
  • Get notified on top games and events
  • Save stories to read later
  • Access to comment on every story
  • Sign up / manage to our newsletters with a single click
  • Get notified by email for early bird access to discounts & offers to our products
Sign in


Comments have to be in English, and in full sentences. They cannot be abusive or personal. Please abide to our community guidelines for posting your comment