Sultan Azlan Shah: Shootout final defeat for India

India conceded a late equaliser to Korea and missed three chances in the shootout to give Korea its third Sultan Azlan Shah title.

India missed three chances the shootout, as Korea scored four out of five chances to win 4-2.   -  Twitter/Hockey India

India lost 4-2 in the penalty shootout to Korea in the final of Sultan Azlan Shah Cup 2019 on Saturday after regulation time ended 1-1 at the Azlan Shah Stadium on Saturday in Ipoh, Malaysia.

India had few nervy moments in the first quarter as the Koreans tried to push upfield with crisp passes. Hardik Singh and Birendra Lakra made a vital interception during this period to give the forwards a chance to counter.

Simranjeet Singh gave India the lead in the 9th minute from a move off a corner. In the second quarter, the Indians won three corners but were unable to add to the lead and went into half-time 1-0 up.

Earlier in the tournament, both teams drew 1-1 when they faced each other in group stage — the only match either team had not won in the tournament.

Korea spurned a good chance to draw level in the third quarter from a penalty corner. India dominated the third quarter, forcing Korea into passing sideways by closing out the middle fourth of the pitch. In the final seconds of the third quarter Korea managed to register a shot on target which was brilliantly kept out by P. R. Sreejesh.

In the 47th minute, Korea equalised from a penalty stroke through Jang Jong Hyun. Both sides went for the kill with the clock running out, but were unable to hold the ball as the match went into a shootout.

India missed three chances as Korea scored four out of five to win 4-2 in the shootout.

Earlier in the day, host Malaysia beat Canada 4-2 in the bronze medal match.

For more updates, follow Sportstar on :