Rajani Etimarpu to lead India in inaugural FIH Women’s Hockey 5s

Mahima Choudhary to serve as vice-captain; young forwards Mariana Kujur and Mumtaz Khan picked in nine-member squad.

The Indian team for the inaugural FIH Women's Hockey 5s. - HOCKEY INDIA

India has named a nine-member squad for the inaugural edition of the FIH Women’s Hockey 5s to be held in Lausanne, Switzerland, from June 4 to 5.

ALSO READ - Gurinder to lead Indian men’s team in FIH Hockey 5s

The team will be captained by experienced goalkeeper Rajani Etimarpu, and Mahima Choudhary will be her deputy. Other members of the Indian team include defenders Rashmita Minz and Ajmina Kujur, and midfielders Vaishnavi Vitthal Phalke, Mahima Choudhary and Preeti.

  • Goalkeeper : Rajani Etimarpu (captain)
  • Defenders : Rashmita Minz, Ajmina Kujur
  • Midfielders : Vaishnavi Vitthal Phalke, Mahima Choudhary (vice-captain), Preeti
  • Forwards : Mariana Kujur, Mumtaz Khan, Rutaja Dadaso Pisal
  • Standbys : Suman Devi Thoudam, Rajwinder Kaur.

Forwards Mariana Kujur and Mumtaz Khan, who were part of the U-18 team that played the Youth Olympics Hockey 5s competition, were also picked, as was Rutaja Dadaso Pisal. Suman Devi Thoudam and Rajwinder Kaur have been named as standbys.

Chief coach Janneke Schopman, who will accompany the team, expressed excitement ahead of her first outing at Hockey 5s. “I have never coached Hockey 5s in an official tournament so it will be interesting experience for me. We have picked a team with variety,” said Schopman.

“Plenty of young talent who proved themselves in the Junior World Cup and I am keen to see them play in this format combined with players from the Senior Core Group.”

Other participants in the tournament are Uruguay, Poland, South Africa, and host Switzerland.

For more updates, follow Sportstar on :
Download Sportstar App
Download Sportstar App
 Daily football podcast
Connect With Us