FIH Pro League: Manpreet Singh returns as captain for Argentina tour

Also returning to the Indian squad are Rupinder Pal Singh and Varun Kumar, among others; Akashdeep Singh, Ramandeep Singh and Simranjeet Singh are rested.

Published : Mar 30, 2021 13:15 IST , New Delhi

Manpreet Singh. - HOCKEY INDIA
Manpreet Singh. - HOCKEY INDIA

Manpreet Singh. - HOCKEY INDIA

The Indian men's hockey team captain Manpreet Singh returns to the side for the FIH Pro League games against Olympic champion Argentina next month. Experienced drag-flick specialist Rupinder Pal Singh and Varun Kumar, who had missed out the previous tour owing to rehab, are also back in the mix.

Hockey India on Tuesday announced a 22-member squad which will take on Argentina on April 11 and 12 in Buenos Aires.

India will play two practice matches against the home team on April 6 and 7, followed by two more on April 13 and 14 as part of their preparations for the Tokyo Olympics this July.

The team features Jaskaran Singh, Sumit and Shilanand Lakra, all of whom will be playing their first international match in over a year. Experienced players Akashdeep Singh, Ramandeep Singh and Simranjeet Singh, who were part of the Europe tour, have been rested.

“We are taking a 22-man squad attempting to provide a good balance between giving experience to those players who need it and opportunities for players to perform on the international stage in the lead-up to the Tokyo Olympics,” stated chief coach Graham Reid in a statement.

ALSO READ - Europe tour a shot in the arm for India

“Argentina play a different style of game to the teams we played in Europe, and we will be using this tour as a great opportunity to continue our growth and development before Tokyo,” he added.

The team will leave for Buenos Aires on Wednesday for the 16-day tour from Bengaluru, following the mandatory RT-PCR tests 72 hours prior to their departure.

  • 1. P. R. Sreejesh
  • 2. Krishan Bahadur Pathak
  • 3. Amit Rohidas
  • 4. Gurinder Singh
  • 5. Harmanpreet Singh (vice-captain)
  • 6. Surender Kumar
  • 7. Rupinderpal Singh
  • 8. Varun Kumar
  • 9. Birendra Lakra
  • 10. Jaskaran Singh
  • 11. Hardik Singh
  • 12. Manpreet Singh (captain)
  • 13. Vivek Sagar Prasad
  • 14. Raj Kumar Pal
  • 15. Sumit
  • 16. Nilakanta Sharma
  • 17. Shamsher Singh
  • 18. Gurjant Singh
  • 19. Dilpreet Singh
  • 20. Mandeep Singh
  • 21. Lalit Kumar Upadhyay
  • 22. Shilanand Lakra.
Sign in to unlock all user benefits
  • Get notified on top games and events
  • Save stories to read later
  • Access to comment on every story
  • Sign up / manage to our newsletters with a single click
  • Get notified by email for early bird access to discounts & offers to our products
Sign in


Comments have to be in English, and in full sentences. They cannot be abusive or personal. Please abide to our community guidelines for posting your comment