RSPB stuns Punjab to lift Senior National Men’s Hockey title

Harsahib Singh scored a brace, while Dilpreet Singh added to the score line in a 3-2 victory for Railway Sports Promotion Board against Hockey Punjab in the Senior National Men's Hockey final.

Dilpreet Singh scored the third goal for PSPB in a 3-2 victory over Hockey Punjab.   -  Biswaranjan Rout

Railway Sports Promotion Board (RSPB) dished out a scintillating performance to stun defending champion Punjab 3-2 and lift the ninth Senior National Men’s Hockey Championship crown in Gwalior on Sunday.

Harsahib Singh (35', 45') scored a brace while Dilpreet Singh (57') struck late for the winners.

Punjab’s goals came from Rupinder Pal Singh (23') and Ramadeep Singh (60').

Both the teams rallied cautiously in the first quarter defending stoutly inside the circle. With no potential circle penetrations made, the first quarter ended in a stalemate but it was the defending champion who made the first breakthrough in the 23rd minute.

Read: Karnataka, MP, Punjab win in Senior Women’s National Hockey

Rupinder Pal Singh converted a penalty corner with a perfect dragflick. The lead, however, did not deter RSPB as it launched a series of attacks.

The third quarter belonged to Harsahib, who scored two crucial field goals in the 35th and 43rd minute to reverse the scoreline in RSPB’s favour.

Dilpreet then increased RSPB’s lead to 3-1 in the 57th minute. After several attempts throughout the match, Ramandeep Singh pulled one back for Punjab at the stroke of final hooter, but it was not enough.

Meanwhile, Petroleum Sports Promotion Board (PSPB) beat Punjab & Sind Bank 4-1 to clinch the bronze medal.

Talwinder Singh (8'), Devinder Walmiki (13'), Harmanpreet Singh (49') and Mandeep Singh (57') scored for the winners while Gaganpreet Singh (51st) scored Punjab & Sind Bank’s lone goal.

For more updates, follow Sportstar on :