FMSCI National Racing C’ship: Ashwin, Bryan share honours

Chennai’s Ashwin Datta and Sri Lanka’s Bryan Perrera register a win each in the premier Euro JK 18 class in the second round.

Ashwin Datta in action in Coimbatore on Sunday.

Mumbai’s Nayan Chatterjee was expected to come up with a performance similar to the one that made headlines on Saturday.

However, Chennai’s Ashwin Datta and Sri Lanka’s Bryan Perrera upset the young man’s calculation by registered a win each in the premier Euro JK 18 class in the second round of the JK Tyre – FMSCI National racing championship at the Kari Motor Speedway circuit here on Sunday.

Nayan was off in a flying fashion in the opening race of the day. There was none to challenge him for the most part but as he was heading down the final corner the oil and water temperatures rose and slowed him down. Ashwin cashed in on the chance that came his way and got past Nayan to take the chequered flag.


In the second race, Nayan had to start 10th on the grid as he got a five-place grid penalty for the engine change. But it was a pleasant surprise to see him quickly move five positions ahead. He kept working hard and eventually finished third. Bryan Pererra and Ashwin finished one-two.

Vishnu Prasad (MSport) and Raghul Rangasamy (Msport) shared a race win each in the Formula LGB 4 class.

  • The results
  • Euro JK 18 - Race 3: 1. Ashwin Datta; 2. Nayan Chatterjee; 3. Karthik Tharani. Race 4: 1. Brayan Perera; 2. Ashwin Datta; 3. Nayan Chatterjee.
  • LGB 4 - Race 2: 1. Vishnu Prasad (Msport, Chennai); 2. Raghul Rangasamy (MSport, Chennai); 3. Rohit Khanna (Dark Don Racing, Delhi). Race 3: 1. Raghul Rangasamy; 2. Vishnu Prasad; 3. Rohit Khanna.
  • Suzuki Gixxer Cup - 1. Joseph Matthew; 2. Syed Muzammil Ali; 3. Malasawmdawnglama.
  • JK Tyre Novice Cup - 1. Tijil Rao (Momentum Motorsports, Bengaluru); 2. Huzaifa Tinwala (Prudent Motorsports, Ahmedabad); 3. Yokeshwaran Krishnavelu (MSport, Coimbatore).
  • Red Bull Road To Rookies - 1. PC Andy Lalhmangaihsanga; 2. Jerome Vanlalrengpuia; 3. Eshaan Shan.

For more updates, follow Sportstar on :