IPL in numbers: Alzarri Joseph's dream debut

Plus Dhoni's landmarks as captain, Jadeja's record for left-arm spinners, the most successful IPL pairs and more...

Alzarri Joseph's 6/12 on debut is the best figures by a bowler in IPL history.   -  K. V. S. Giri


The number of bowlers who have the distinction of claiming the most wickets in an Indian Premier League match. On April 6, 2019, in Hyderabad, Mumbai Indians’ paceman Alzarri Joseph, making his debut in the competition, became the third bowler to claim a six-wicket haul in the IPL. His 6/12 is also the best figures by a bowler in IPL history. Overall, it was the eighth-best figures in Twenty20 cricket and the second-best on Asian soil. Incidentally, Joseph also became the first West Indian to claim a six-or-more wicket haul in T20 cricket.

Best bowling in IPL cricket

Bowling figures (overs)BowlerForAgainstVenueDateIPL match #AgeResult
6/12 (3.4)Alzarri JosephMumbai IndiansSunrisers HyderabadHyderabadApril 6, 2019Debut22 years, 168 daysWon
6/14 (4)Sohail TanvirRajasthan RoyalsChennai Super KingsJaipurMay 4, 2008323 years, 144 daysWon
6/19 (4)Adam ZampaRising Pune SupergiantsSunrisers HyderabadVisakhapatnamMay 10, 2016224 years, 40 daysWon

Note: Joseph is the second-youngest in wthe IPL to take a five-wicket haul after Jaydev Unadkat (21 years, 204 days in 2013).


The number of matches won as a captain by M. S. Dhoni in the IPL. He thus became the first player to reach this landmark in IPL history. He achieved this at Jaipur during Chennai Super Kings’ game against Rajasthan Royals on April 11, 2019.

Summary of M. S. Dhoni’s 100 IPL victories as captain

ForSpanMatchesWonLostNo resultWin percentage
Chennai Super Kings2008-191529556162.50
Rising Pune Supergiants20161459035.71

Players with most wins as captain in IPL

WinsCaptainTeamsTotal matchesMatches lostNo resultWin percentage
100M. S. DhoniChennai Super Kings, Rising Pune Supergiants16665160.24
71Gautam GambhirDelhi Daredevils, Kolkata Knight Riders12958055.04
55Rohit SharmaMumbai Indians9540057.89
46Virat KohliRoyal Challengers Bangalore10354344.66
35Adam GilchristDeccan Chargers, Kings XI Punjab7439047.30
31Shane WarneRajasthan Royals5524056.36
30Sachin TendulkarMumbai Indians5121058.82


The number of wickets claimed by Ravindra Jadeja in the IPL. He became the 13th bowler to reach this landmark in the competition and the third left-arm bowler after Ashish Nehra (106) and Zaheer Khan (102). However, Jadeja is the first-left arm spinner in IPL history to reach this milestone.

Most wickets by left-arm spinners in the IPL

WicketsBowlerMatchesAverageStrike rateRuns per overSpan
100Ravindra Jadeja16129.4123.157.622008-19
89Pragyan Ojha9226.2121.347.372008-15
64Axar Patel7329.5823.777.472011-19
58Shakib Al Hasan6127.5722.167.472011-19
47Shadab Jakati5930.8523.098.022009-17


The total number matches played by Mumbai Indians in T20 cricket. It became the first side to reach this landmark in T20 history during its IPL match at the Wankhede Stadium against Rajasthan Royals on April 13, 2019.

Summary of Mumbai Indians’ T20 matches

TournamentSpanMatchesWonLostNo resultWin percentage
Champions League2010-1422119250.00

Teams appearing in most T20 matches

TeamSpanMatchesWonLostNo resultTiedWin percentage
Mumbai Indians2008-19200113852056.50
Royal Challengers Bangalore2008-1918886993045.74
Kolkata Knight Riders2003-1818799871050.25

Note: Tied matches are the ones that were not decided by a super over.


The number of runs aggregated by Virat Kohli and A. B. de Villiers in partnership in IPL cricket. This is now the most by any pair in IPL history. During their 85-run stand against Kings XI Punjab at Mohali, they surpassed the previous highest tally of 2,787 runs between Kohli and Chris Gayle.

Most successful pairs in IPL cricket

RunsPairInningsAverageHighest partnership100-run partnerships50-run partnershipsFor
2,793Virat Kohli and A. B. De Villiers6545.05229*910Royal Challengers Bangalore
2,787Virat Kohli and Chris Gayle5952.58204*912Royal Challengers Bangalore
2,357Shikhar Dhawan and David Warner5048.10139614Sunrisers Hyderabad
1,906Gautam Gambhir and Robin Uthappa4839.71158510Kolkata Knight Riders
1,399Suresh Raina and M. S. Dhoni5130.4174010Chennai Super Kings


Queries Corner

Deepak Chahar recently bowled 20 dot balls for Chennai Super Kings against Kolkata Knight Riders at Chennai. Is this the most bowled by a bowler in an IPL match? - Surya Kumar, Tirupati.

Deepak Chahar’s effort of delivering 20 dot balls is the most by a bowler in IPL history. A few others, namely, Ashish Nehra, Fidel Edwards, Munaf Patel, Morne Morkel, S. Sreenath, Zaheer Khan and Ankit Rajpoot, have bowled 19 dot balls in an IPL match.

Has any batsman managed to score a fifty during the powerplay in this IPL? - Ramu Aniyan, Mysore.

Only Sunrisers Hyderabad’s David Warner has been able to manage that during his 37-ball 69 against Rajasthan at Hyderabad. Warner in the first six overs was able to hit 52 runs in 27 balls, with eight fours and one six. The next best is 48 not out in 23 balls by Chris Gayle for Kings XI Punjab against Royal Challengers Bangalore at Mohali. Warner’s teammate and opening partner Jonny Bairstow has the third best score of 47 not out in 25 balls at Delhi, followed by Rajasthan Royals’ Jos Buttler who made 43 not out in 22 balls against Punjab at Jaipur.

Pakistan’s Mohd. Rizwan scored a duck in between his two centuries in the recent ODI series in the UAE against Australia. Is this a first time in ODI cricket? – Ramesh Narayan, Surat.

Mohd. Rizwan in fact became the sixth batsman to register a duck in between two ODI centuries. The others to do so were West Indian Phil Simmons in 1992, India’s Sachin Tendulkar in 2001, Sri Lankan Kumar Sangakkara in 2008, West Indian Chris Gayle in 2008 and England’s Jonathan Trott in 2011.

How often has Pakistan been whitewashed in an ODI series? – Sameer Khilani, Mumbai.

Overall, this is the 11th time Pakistan has managed to lose all matches in an ODI bilateral series of three or more games. However, this the fourth time it has lost a series 0-5. On one other occasion it has lost 0-4 and on six occasions it has lost 0-3.

Note: All figures above are updated as on April 13, 2019.

For more updates, follow Sportstar on :