Captains and centuries

Virat Kohli celebrates his century on day two of the first Test between England and India at Edgbaston on August 2.   -  Getty Images


The number of Test centuries for Virat Kohli in 113 innings. Only three other batsmen have done it in fewer. Kohli is the second quickest to reach this milestone in terms of time taken.

Fewest innings to reach 22 Test hundreds

InningsBatsmanCountryAchieved inAgeTime taken
58Don BradmanAustraliaNovember 194638 years, 94 days17 years, 364 days
101Sunil GavaskarIndiaNovember 197930 years, 116 days8 years, 242 days
108Steve SmithAustraliaDecember 201728 years, 197 days7 years, 156 days
113Virat KohliIndiaAugust 201829 years, 270 days7 years, 43 days
114Sachin TendulkarIndiaDecember 199926 years, 248 days10 years, 43 days

Shortest time to reach 22 Test hundreds

Time takenBatsmanCountryAchieved inAgeInnings
6 years, 269 daysAlastair CookEnglandNovember 201227 years, 336 days149
7 years, 43 daysVirat KohliIndiaAugust 201829 years, 270 days113
7 years, 156 daysSteve SmithAustraliaDecember 201728 years, 197 days108
8 years, 82 daysMichael ClarkeAustraliaDecember 201231 years, 269 days146
8 years, 242 daysSunil GavaskarIndiaNovember 197930 years, 116 days101


The number of Test centuries for Virat Kohli as captain in 58 innings. He becomes the sixth captain to register 15 or more centuries in Tests. Only two other Test captains have scored more hundreds than Kohli. By registering his 15th Test 100 as captain in just 58 innings, he became the second quickest after Aussie Steve Smith in terms of innings.

Players with 15 of more Test hundreds as captain

HundredsBatsmanCountryMatchesInningsRunsNot outsHighest scoreAverageFifties
25Graeme SmithSouth Africa1091938,6591227747.8336
19Ricky PontingAustralia771406,5421320951.5135
15Allan BorderAustralia931546,6232420550.9436
15Steve WaughAustralia57833,7141219952.3010
15Steve SmithAustralia34603,659823970.3613
15Virat KohliIndia36593,656424366.477

Fewest innings to reach 15 Test centuries as captain

InningsBatsmanCountryAchieved inAgeTime taken since debut as captain
53Steve SmithAustraliaDecember 201728 years, 211 days3 years, 13 days
58Virat KohliIndiaAugust 201829 years, 270 days3 years, 236 days
74Steve WaughAustraliaJuly 200338 years, 55 days4 years, 144 days
75Ricky PontingAustraliaMay 200833 years, 155 days4 years, 75 days
113Graeme SmithSouth AfricaNovember 200827 years, 292 days5 years, 209 days
144Allan BorderAustraliaDecember 199338 years, 131 days8 years, 363 days

Note: Graeme Smith’s records include one Test for the ICC World XI in 2005.


The number of runs scored by Virat Kohli as captain across all international formats. He reached this milestone during his first-innings knock of 149 at Birmingham. He becomes the 15th captain to aggregate this figure in international cricket. While doing so, he became the quickest to reach this landmark in terms of innings, reaching there in 39 fewer innings than West Indian great Brian Lara.

Fewest innings to reach 7,000 international runs as captain

InningsMatchesBatsmanCountryAchieved inTotal matches as captainTotal innings as captainTotal runs as captain
125105Virat KohliIndiaAugust 20181051257,160
164136Brian LaraWest IndiesMay 20061722048,410
166149Ricky PontingAustraliaMarch 200632437615,440
166136Michael ClarkeAustraliaJuly 20151391717,060
171124Alastair CookEnglandOctober 20161291817,372
173151Clive LloydWest IndiesJanuary 19851581787,149
173137Graeme SmithSouth AfricaMarch 200728636814,878
175144Misbah-ul-HaqPakistanOctober 20161511897,392


The number of occasions India has failed to successfully chase targets of less than 200 runs in Tests.

Lowest targets India failed to chase

TargetLost byFourth-innings totalAgainstVenueDateCaptain
12038 runs81West IndiesBridgetownMarch 31, 1997Sachin Tendulkar
17663 runs112Sri LankaGalleAugust 15, 2015Virat Kohli
19431 runs162EnglandBirminghamAugust 4, 2018Virat Kohli
20872 runs135South AfricaCape TownJanuary 8, 2018Virat Kohli
22116 runs204PakistanBangaloreMarch 17, 1987Sunil Gavaskar
23194 runs136AustraliaKolkataNovember 6, 1956Polly Umrigar
23561 runs173ZimbabweHarareOctober 10, 1998Mohammad Azharuddin



Queries Corner

In the Birmingham Test match, Virat Kohli put a 50-run stand for the 10th wicket with Umesh Yadav, who made just one. Is this some sort of a record?

– Rajeev Rathi, Jaipur

In Test cricket, this is the fifth occasion that the No.11 batsman’s contribution is just one in a 50-plus stand. However, Kohli and Yadav’s stand of 57 runs for the last wicket is the second highest among the five instances. At this very ground – Edgbaston – in an Ashes Test match, Australians Adam Gilchrist and Glenn McGrath put on 63 for the 10th wicket with the latter contributing just one run!

I noticed in the recent Test match at Kingston that none of the 10 West Indian batsmen were dismissed ‘caught’? Has this happened before in Test cricket?

– Anil Nalawade, Nagpur

This occurred in the West Indies’ second innings when the team was dismissed for 129 by the Bangladeshi bowlers. The innings had four of the batsmen bowled, three leg-before and three stumped. This is actually the fourth occasion that this has happened in Test cricket. The first three: South Africa all out for 43 against England at Cape Town in March 1889, New Zealand dismissed for 158 by England at Auckland in March 1933 and Australia all out for 674 against India at Adelaide in January 1948.

What is India’s record in a five-match Test series?

– Vikas Singh, Raipur

Before the ongoing Test series in England, India has played 34 series of five or more Tests (including six six-Test series). India has won 10, lost 20 and drawn four. Of the six-match series, India has won four and lost two. In five-match series, India has won six , lost 18 and drawn four.

How many Indian captains have made Test centuries in England?

– Rahul Satpathy, New Delhi

Virat Kohli (149) in the recent Edgbaston Test became the fourth to register three-figure scores as captain for India in England. Mohammad Azharuddin has two centuries – 179 at Manchester and 121 at Lord’s in 1990. The others are Mansoor Ali Khan Pataudi (148 at Leeds, 1967) and Sourav Ganguly (128 at Leeds, 2002).

Note: All figures above are updated as of 4 August 2018.

For more updates, follow Sportstar on :