Kohli's turn to be overtaken

India's Rohit Sharma and Virat Kohli have been breaking record after record.   -  Twitter (@BCCI)


The number of international runs made by Virat Kohli before the age of 30. Only former teammate Sachin Tendulkar had made more at that age.

Most international runs before the age of 30 years

RunsBatsmanCountryMatchesInningsNot outsAverageHighest scoreHundredsFifties
21,030Sachin TendulkarIndia4194744649.132176597
18,665Virat KohliIndia3513906056.562436285
15,123Jacques KallisSouth Africa3143686449.74189*3590
14,512Graeme SmithSouth Africa2873532143.712773077
14,164A. B. de VilliersSouth Africa3003514946.90278*3475




The number of runs made by Rohit Sharma in Twenty20 Internationals up to the end of the Lucknow match. He is now the leading run-getter for India in this format, surpassing the previous record tally of 2,102 runs by Virat Kohli, who had held the record since September 2014.



T20I runs aggregate: Progression of Indian record

RunsBatsmanAgainstVenueDateNext highest
38Dinesh MongiaSouth AfricaJohannesburgDecember 1, 2006Virender Sehwag (34)
50Robin UthappaPakistanDurbanSeptember 14, 2007Dinesh Karthik (42)
79Virender SehwagNew ZealandJohannesburgSeptember 16, 2007Dinesh Karthik (59)
227Gautam GambhirAustraliaDurbanSeptember 22, 2007Virender Sehwag (167)
939Yuvraj SinghAustraliaMirpurMarch 30, 2014Gautam Gambhir (932)
972Virat KohliEnglandBirminghamSeptember 7, 2014Yuvraj Singh (968)
2,203Rohit SharmaWest IndiesLucknowNovember 6, 2018Virat Kohli (2,102)



The number of three-figure scores by Rohit Sharma in T20I cricket. This is now the most by any batsman in this format. Sharma achieved the record in Lucknow.


Batsmen with two or more centuries in T20I cricket

HundredsFiftiesBatsmanMatchesInningsCountryNinetiesAchieved on
415Rohit Sharma8679India1November 6, 2018
38Colin Munro4845New Zealand0January 3, 2018
213Brendon McCullum7170New Zealand1September 21, 2012
213Chris Gayle5652West Indies2March 16, 2016
23Evin Lewis1717West Indies1July 9, 2017
214Martin Guptill7573New Zealand1February 16, 2018
24K. L. Rahul2119India0July 3, 2018
29Aaron Finch4646Australia0July 3, 2018
25Glenn Maxwell5347Australia0July 7, 2018




The first batsmen to reach…

T20I 100 #BatsmanScoreCountryOpponentVenueDateNotes
1Chris Gayle117West IndiesSouth AfricaJohannesburgSeptember 11, 2007Equalled by six others
2Brendon McCullum123New ZealandBangladeshPallekeleSeptember 21, 2012Equalled by Gayle, Lewis, Munro and Sharma
3Colin Munro104New ZealandWest IndiesMt MaunganuiJanuary 3, 2018Equalled by Sharma on July 8 , 2018
4Rohit Sharma111*IndiaWest IndiesLucknowNovember 6, 2018 



The number of successive bilateral One-Day International series won at home by India, since losing 2-3 to South Africa in October 2015 at Mumbai’s Wankhede Stadium. The 3-1 win against the West Indies now equals India’s best home series win sequence. The current steak began against New Zealand in October 2016.

Most successive bilateral ODI series wins at home


First streak

December 2009Sri Lanka53-1
February 2010South Africa32-1
October 2010Australia11-0
November-December 2010New Zealand55-0
October 2011England55-0
November-December 2011West Indies54-1


Second streak

October 2016New Zealand53-2
January 2017England32-1
September-October 2017Australia54-1
October 2017New Zealand32-1
December 2017Sri Lanka32-1
October-November 2018West Indies53-1



Note: India won five successive ODI series between March 1993 and December 1996 and again between January 2013 and November 2014.



Queries Corner

Joe Denly made a comeback to the England team after nearly eight years. Is this the longest for any player in the T20I format? – Aniket Shetty, Mumbai.

England’s Joe Denly made a comeback of sorts when he played in the T20I match against Sri Lanka at the Premadasa on October 27, 2018. He last played a T20I game against Pakistan in Dubai on February 20, 2010 – a gap of eight years, 247 days. This is now the second longest for any T20I player. His former teammate Liam Plunkett holds the record of nine years, 162 days between June 2006 and November 2015. However, Denly now holds the record of missing most games in between – 79. Plunkett held the record previously by missing 74 games!

Before he was dismissed for 16 at the Brabourne Stadium, Virat Kohli had 16 consecutive scores of 25-plus in ODIs. Is this a record sequence by any batsman? – Pooja Mishra, Chandigarh.

Virat Kohli, in fact, equalled the record held by Matthew Hayden of Australia, who from February 20, 2007 to October 11, 2007 made 16 scores of 25-plus, which included four hundreds and four fifties, with a highest of 181 not out. Kohli, during his sequence, hit eight hundreds and three fifties, with a highest of 160 not out.

In the Guwahati ODI, India used just five bowlers against the West Indies, who scored 322/8 in their 50 overs. What is the highest score in ODI cricket when just five bowlers have been used? – Srihari Rao, Visakhapatnam.

The West Indies’ 322/8 at Guwahati is now the second highest total by an opponent where only five Indian bowlers shared the 50 overs. Nearly 12 years ago, West Indies had made 324/8 in 50 overs in Nagpur on January 21, 2007 when only Zaheer Khan, S. Sreesanth, Ajit Agarkar, Harbhajan Singh and Sachin Tendulkar bowled their full quota of 10 overs each. India won that ODI by 14 runs. However, the ODI record was set recently at Edinburgh on June 10, 2018 when England used just five bowlers against Scotland, who had massed a huge total of 371/5 in their 50 overs.

In the Abu Dhabi Test against Australia, Pakistan’s Babar Azam scored a duck and then a 99. How often has a Test batsman been dismissed on a duck and then fell one short of a century in the second innings? – S Rajan, Nagpur.

Babar Azam is the sixth batsman to make a duck and 99 in the same Test match. However, he is the only second batsman in Test history to first register a duck and then be dismissed for a 99 in the second innings of the Test. India’s Pankaj Roy had this misfortune against Australia in Delhi during the 1959-60 series.