Statsman: Rohit Sharma tops against Windies

Rohit Sharma tops the chart for scoring most number of runs against the West Indies in T20I cricket

Published : Mar 01, 2022 16:39 IST

India skipper Rohit Sharma smashed a fluent 40 in the first T20I against West Indies.
India skipper Rohit Sharma smashed a fluent 40 in the first T20I against West Indies.

India skipper Rohit Sharma smashed a fluent 40 in the first T20I against West Indies.

585   Rohit Sharma's run-aggregate against the West Indies in T20I cricket. This is now the most runs scored against the Caribbean side in this format. His teammate Virat Kohli is second in this list. In the series against the West Indies, they both surpassed the previous record tally of 570 runs held by Pakistani Babar Azam. 

Highest run-aggregates against the West Indies in T20 cricket

Note:The unbeaten knock of 52 in the second match in Kolkata on February 18, 2022 was Kohli's sixth fifty-plus score against the West Indies. This is now the most by any batter against this opponent. Previously, Babar Azam had registered five fifties, while Rohit Sharma had one century and four fifties.

READ: Shreyas Iyer and India's No.3 puzzle in T20Is

4               The number of batters who have dominated in the “leading run-getter in T20I cricket” category in men's cricket since 2009. This list elite group includes two New Zealanders and two Indians. Ever since Kiwi Brendon McCullum became T20I cricket’s leading run-getter on February 15, 2009 at the Sydney Cricket Ground, he has managed to hold on to this record for a record nine years and one day, until former teammate Martin Guptill surpassed his record tally of 2140 runs in Auckland on February 16, 2018. With McCullum’s retirement from this format in June 2015, the record has been frequently changing hands among Guptill and Indians Rohit Sharma and Virat Kohli. In the first match of the series against Sri Lanka in Lucknow Rohit Sharma once again became T20I cricket’s leading run-getter by going ahead of Martin Guptill’s 3299 runs. Following these two is Virat Kohli with 3296 runs. Before McCullum only five other batters have held the record from Feb 2005 to Feb 2009.

Batters in men’s cricket who were the leading run-getters in T20 international cricket


+ Three of the leading run-getters in T20I cricket  


** On Dec 8, 2019 (vs WI in Thiruvananthapuram) Rohit (2562) went ahead of Kohli’s tally of 2544 runs before the former went ahead by one run (2563) in the same match.

** Then, in the next match (vs WI in Mumbai WS) on Dec 11, 2019, Rohit again went ahead with 2633 runs. However, Kohli equalled Rohit’s tally of 2633.

READ: Rohit Sharma goes past Martin Guptill to become leading run-scorer in T20Is

89           The number of runs made by Ishan Kishan against Sri Lanka in the Lucknow T20I on Feb 24, 2022. This was Kishan's highest score in international career. This is now the highest by an Indian wicket-keeper in this format. He bettered the previous score of 65 by Rishabh Pant against the West Indies at Providence on Aug 6, 2019.

Highest individual scores by Indian wicket-keepers in T20I cricket


Highest scores by Indian wicket-keepers in each international format


4            The number of fielders to claim fifty or more catches in T20 international cricket. Rohit Sharma, in the second T20I against Sri Lanka in Dharamsala, became the latest to achieve this.

Most catches by fieldsmen in T20Is


7        India's consecutive T20I bilateral series victories at home. Since defeating Bangladesh 2-1 in November 2019, India has won the series against six more sides. This is now the second-best performance by a home side, just one short of Australia's record tally of eight home series wins from January 2006 to February 2010.  Before the start of this home series winning sequence since November 2019, India, in September 2019, had drawn the three-match series one-all against South Africa (with the deciding final match in Dharamsala being washed out) and before the South African series, India had lost to Australia 0-2 (with one match in Guwahati washed out). This means India has not lost its last eight T20I series at home.

India's last seven consecutive bilateral T20I series victories at home

Note: It is indeed unique for any international side to register three series clean-sweeps in the same season.                  


Most consecutive bilateral T20I series victories at home

Note: During Australia's eight series winning streak (from 2006 to 2010) they had played six single-match series and two-double match series, which means none of these was a three or more match series.


3      The number of T20I sides to win 12 consecutive T20I matches. India, in the final match, in Dharamsala became the latest to achieve this unique record.

Most consecutive outright T20I victories

+ consecutive victories in progress


8      The number of occasions India has managed to win all its matches in a three-or-more match T20I series. India, this season, has managed to do this against three international sides — New Zealand, West Indies and Sri Lanka. 

India winning every match in a T20I bilateral series


All records are correct and updated until Feb 27, 2022

Sign in to unlock all user benefits
  • Get notified on top games and events
  • Save stories to read later
  • Access to comment on every story
  • Sign up / manage to our newsletters with a single click
  • Get notified by email for early bird access to discounts & offers to our products
Sign in


Comments have to be in English, and in full sentences. They cannot be abusive or personal. Please abide to our community guidelines for posting your comment