Virat Kohli first to 3,000 runs in T20Is

Former New Zealand captain Brendon McCullum was the first to reach the 2,000 run-mark in 2014.

Virat Kohli is only the second batsman to score 10,000 ODI runs at No. 3.   -  Sportzpics / BCCI


The number of batsmen to aggregate 3,000 runs in Twenty20 Internationals (T20Is), Virat Kolhi becoming the first to do so in the second match of the series against England in Ahmedabad. The following batsmen have the distinction of reaching the following landmarks in T20I cricket.

First to reach run landmarks in T20Is

RunsBatsmanCountryAchieved onMatchesInningsRunsAverage
500Brendon McCullumNew ZealandFebruary 25, 2009202051330.18
1,000Brendon McCullumNew ZealandMay 4, 201035351,000936.04
1,500Brendon McCullumNew ZealandSeptember 21, 201249491,56638.20
2,000Brendon McCullumNew ZealandMarch 29, 201467662.04436.50
2,500Rohit SharmaIndiaNovember 7, 2019100922,53732.53
3,000Virat KohliIndiaMarch 14, 202187813,00150.86


The number of innings taken by England Dawid Malan is now the fewest to reach 1,000 runs in T20I cricket. He became the seventh English player and the 64th overall to reach the landmark in the fifth and final match of the series against India in Ahmedabad.

Fewest innings to reach 1,000 T20I runs

InningsMatchesBatsmanCountryAchieved onRunsAverage
2424Dawid MalanEnglandMarch 20, 20211,000350.15
2626Babar AzamPakistanNovember 4, 20181,03154.26
2729Virat KohliIndiaOctober 2, 20151,01546.14
2929Aaron FinchAustraliaFebruary 17, 20171,01739.12
2932K. L. RahulIndiaDecember 6, 20191,03643.17


The number of T20I series in which India has been undefeated since its 0-2 loss to Australia in February 2019 at home. During this period, the Indian team has won seven series and shared the honours in one. Three of the series victories came away from home, while India has now won its last six T20I series.

READ| Virat Kohli, Shubman Gill's ducks against England - a strange record!

India’s unbeaten run in T20I series

VenueOppositionMonth/YearResult (Matches)Captain
USA/West IndiesWest IndiesAugust 2019India won 3-0 (3)Virat Kohli
IndiaSouth AfricaSeptember 2019Shared 1-1 (2)Virat Kohli
IndiaBangladeshNovember 2019India won 2-1 (3)Rohit Sharma
IndiaWest IndiesDecember 2019India won 2-1 (3)Virat Kohli
IndiaSri LankaJanuary 2020India won 2-0 (3)Virat Kohli
New ZealandNew ZealandJanuary-February 2020India won 5-0 (5) #Virat Kohli (4), Rohit Sharma (1)
AustraliaAustraliaDecember 2020India won 2-1 (3)Virat Kohli
IndiaEnglandMarch 2021India won 3-2 (5)Virat Kohli

# Includes two tied games. India won both via super over.


- The first match against Sri Lanka in Guwahati was abandoned after the toss.

- India's record during this sequence is: played 29, won 20, lost 8, no result 1.

- Kohli's record as captain is: won 17, lost 7, no result 1. Sharma's record as captain: won 3, lost 1.

Dawid Malan is the seventh Englishman and 64th player overall to score 1,000 T20I runs.   -  Sportzpics / BCCI



The number of balls taken by India’s Krunal Pandya to reach his fifty in the opening match of the One-Day International (ODI) series against England in Pune is now the fewest by a debutant. He is also the only one to do so in less than 30 balls.

Fastest fifties on ODI debut

26Krunal Pandya58*IndiaEnglandPuneMarch 23, 2021
35Roland Butcher52EnglandAustraliaBirminghamAugust 22, 1980
35John Morris63*EnglandNew ZealandAdelaideDecember 1, 1990
37Ben Hollioake63EnglandAustraliaLord’sMay 25, 1997
38Luke Wright50EnglandIndiaThe OvalSeptember 5, 2007
40Nasir Jamshed61PakistanZimbabweKarachiJanuary 21, 2008


The number of batsmen who have aggregated 10,000 runs while batting at No. 3 in ODIs. Virat Kohli joined Ricky Ponting as the only batsmen to do so during the second ODI against England in Pune on March 26.

Leading run-getters while batting at No. 3 in ODIs

RunsBatsmanCountryMatchesInningsNo-outsHighest scoreAverageStrike rateHundredsFifties
12,662Ricky PontingAustralia +3353303216442.4880.732974
10,053Virat KohliIndia1931913018362.4494.213652
9,747Kumar SangakkaraSri Lanka +2432382016944.7180.501866
7,774Jacques KallisSouth Africa +2042003013945.7273.741357
5,421Kane WilliamsonNew Zealand1191171014850.6682.311136
5,100Dean JonesAustralia1321311414543.5872.07739

+ Also appeared for other teams in ODIs.

Note: Sachin Tendulkar is the only other Indian batsman to aggregate more than 10,000 runs at one batting position, having scored 13,685 runs at No. 2 in ODIs.


The combined number of sixes hit by India and England in the recent ODIs is the most in a series of four matches or less.

Most sixes in a series of four ODIs or less

SixesHome teamVisiting teamMonth/YearSeries result
70India (33)England (37)March 2021India won 2-1
57New Zealand (30)Sri Lanka (27)January 2019New Zealand won 3-0
56India (30)England (26)January 2017India won 2-1
55India (22)West Indies (33)December 2019India won 2-1
51Australia (27)India (24)November-December, 2020Australia won 2-1
50New Zealand (21)Australia (29)February 2007New Zealand won 3-0

Notes: England’s tally of 37 sixes is now the most by one team in a four-games-or-less ODI series, bettering the previous record of 35 by the West Indies at home against Bangladesh in August 2014.

READ| Harshal Patel joins Anil Kumble in IPL record books

India’s tally of 33 sixes is the most by the country in a series of four matches or less, betting the previous best of 30 also against England in the three-match ODI series at home in 2017.


The number of times India has defeated England in the 10 ODI series the two sides have played in India. The recent series victory was India’s sixth in a row at home against England.

India vs England bilateral series results

November-December 19813India won 2-1
December 1984-January 19855England won 4-1
January-March 19936Shared 3-3
January-February 20026Shared 3-3
March-April 20066India won 5-1
November 20085India won 5-0
October 20115India won 5-0
January 20135India won 3-2
January 20173India won 2-1
March 20213India won 2-1

Note: Of the 10 series played, India has won seven and England one, with two series shared.

All records are updated as of March 28, 2021.

For more updates, follow Sportstar on :