West Zone TT: Sushmit, Manush Shah stretched in first round

While Sushmit was pushed to six games by Shubham Ambre of Maharashtra, Manush Shah was given a fright by S. Preyesh Raj of Tamil Nadu.

Mohammed Ali of Telangana in action of Day 2 of UTT west zone national ranking table tennis tournament in Thane on Wednesday.   -  Vibhav Birwatkar

Fourth seed Sushmit Sriram of Tamil Nadu and eighth seed Manush Shah were stretched to the hilt by promising youngsters Shubham Ambre of Maharashtra and S. Preyesh Raj of Tamil Nadu, respectively, in the men’s main draw first round of the UTT West Zone National ranking table tennis tournament on Thursday.

Despite the delayed fixtures due to a prolonged inaugural ceremony in the morning, Ambre and Preyesh put up a brave show before going down against fancied opponents at the Smt. Sulochanadevi Singhania school.

In an all-southpaw battle, Shah, a star of India’s bronze medal-winning squad at the recent Asian Junior Championship, had a tough time dealing with Preyesh, who is one of the consistent performers in the sub-junior category. Thanks to his powerful forehand top-spins, Shah raced to a 3-0 lead but Preyesh showed his mettle by winning the next two games. Shah, however, raised his game in the sixth to win 11-9, 11-8, 11-9, 7-11, 12-14, 11-8.

Sushmit, meanwhile, was surprised to have seen young Ambre pose a threat to his unconventional strokes. In fact, had Ambre converted game-point in the second, he could well have created the first major upset of the tournament. But Sushmit eventually managed to win 9-11, 12-10, 5-11, 11-3, 11-5, 12-10 and set up a round of 32 face-off against North Bengal’s Mainak Das later in the night.

Important results:

Main draw: First round:

Women: Moumita Dutta (RSPB) bt Rony Maria (CB) 11-9, 11-9, 11-9, 3-11, 8-11, 15-13; Premangi Ghosh (RSPB) bt Tamanna Saini (Del) 11-9, 11-4, 11-7, 11-8; Rupsa Bhattacharya (WB) bt Anuska Dutta (RSPB) 14-12, 11-6, 11-7, 12-10; Poymantee Baisya (WB) bt Naina (Tel) 11-9, 11-7, 12-10, 13-15, 11-6; Takeme Sarkar (RSPB) bt Yashini Sivashankar (TN) 6-11, 11-8, 11-6, 11-7, 9-11, 11-2; Anannya Basak (Mah) bt Riti Shankar (Har) 11-8, 13-11, 4-11, 9-11, 3-11, 11-4, 11-6; Ankita Das (PSPB) bt Anindita Chakraborty (RSPB) 11-5, 13-11, 13-11, 8-11, 11-4; Frenaz Chipia (Guj) bt Mamata Prabhu (Tel) 11-9, 5-11, 8-11, 11-6, 11-8, 11-7.

Men: Aniket Sen Chowdhary bt Nikhil Suresh (TN) 11-7, 11-7, 11-7, 11-2; Aman Balgu (Tel) bt Hrishikesh Malhotra (Mah) 6-11, 7-11, 11-9, 11-3, 11-5, 11-8; Manush Shah (Guj) bt S. Preyesh Raj (TN) 11-9, 11-8, 11-9, 7-11, 12-14, 11-8; Jubin Kumar (Har) bt Mohammed Ali (Tel) 11-9, 6-11, 14-12, 11-7, 6-11, 11-6; Sushmit Sriram (TN) bt Shubham Ambre (RSPB) 9-11, 12-10, 5-11, 11-3, 11-5, 12-10; Raj Mondal (RBI) bt Jignesh Jaiswal (Guj) 16-14, 6-11, 11-6, 6-11, 11-7, 11-5; Utkarsh Gupta (Del) bt G. Arvind Kumar (Tel) 10-12, 12-10, 13-11, 11-8, 6-11, 11-9; Sanil Shetty (PSPB) bt Ali Mohammed (Tel) 8-11, 11-9, 11-7, 10-12, 11-7, 11-6.


Support Sportstar

Dear Reader,

Support our journalism — where text and pictures intermingle so seamlessly — and help us scale up your experience as the world changes around us. Your contribution is vital to our brand of uninfluenced, boots-on-the-ground reportage that’s worth your while. Clickbait sensationalism is not for us, but editorial independence is — we owe it to you.