VIDEO: Tracing Mohammed Shami’s record-breaking ODI World Cup career

With 45 wickets in just 14 ODI World Cup matches, Mohammed Shami has been a destroyer-in-chief among the current Indian pace attack.

Published : Nov 05, 2023 09:39 IST , Chennai - 1 MIN READ

| Video Credit: Edit: Kavita Menon, Suganthavalli M

India’s fast bowling attack in the 2023 World Cup has been formidable, with Mohammed Shami leading the pace trio. Shami has notched up two five-wicket hauls and a four-fer in just four innings during this quadrennial event.

His 16 scalps at an unbelievable average of 7.00 takes him fourth among the leading wicket-takers of this World Cup. He is also the highest wicket-taker among Indians on this list at the 2023 World Cup.

The 33-year-old became India’s highest wicket-taker in ODI World Cup history during the India vs Sri Lanka match at the Wankhede Stadium in Mumbai.

With 45 wickets in ODI World Cups, Shami went past Zaheer Khan and Javagal Srinath after his fifer against the Lankans.

Shami also entered the top 10 list of the highest wicket-takers in ODI World cup history, which is topped by Glenn McGrath’s 71 scalps.

Among active international cricketers, only Mitchell Starc and Trent Boult are above Shami in the list with 56 and 49 wickets, respectively.

Shami picked his third World Cup five-wicket haul against Sri Lanka at the Wankhede stadium in Mumbai on November 2. Shami is now level with Starc in having the most five-wicket hauls in ODI World Cups.

Our correspondents, Anish Pathiyil and Mayank, analyse what makes Shami so remarkable and whether is he the best World Cup bowler in history.

Most wickets for India in ODI World Cup
Mohammed Shami - 47 wickets in 15 matches
Zaheer Khan - 44 wickets in 23 matches
Javagal Srinath - 44 wickets in 34 matches
Jasprit Bumrah - 33 wickets in 16 matches
Anil Kumble - 31 wickets in 18 matches
Top 10 all-time wicket-takers in ODI World Cup
Glenn McGrath (AUS) - 71 wickets in 39 matches
Muthiah Muralidaran (SL) - 68 wickets in 40 matches
Mitchell Starc (AUS) - 56 wickets in 24 matches
Lasith Malinga (SL) - 56 wickets in 29 matches
Wasim Akram (PAK) - 55 wickets in 38 matches
Chaminda Vaas (SL) - 49 wickets in 31 matches
Trent Boult (NZ) - 49 wickets in 26 matches
Mohammed Shami (IND) - 47 wickets in 15 matches
Zaheer Khan (IND) - 44 wickets in 23 matches
Javagal Srinath (IND) - 44 wickets in 34 matches
Sign in to unlock all user benefits
  • Get notified on top games and events
  • Save stories to read later
  • Access to comment on every story
  • Sign up / manage to our newsletters with a single click
  • Get notified by email for early bird access to discounts & offers to our products
Sign in


Comments have to be in English, and in full sentences. They cannot be abusive or personal. Please abide to our community guidelines for posting your comment