Nithin B races to a double, Dineshwari bags gold

Nithin won the 200m title clocking 21.57 seconds. He had earlier taken the field by surprise in the 100m dash, timing 10.76s.

Tamil Nadu's Nithin B after winning the U-21 100m gold in the Khelo India Youth Games at Balewadi Stadium on Friday.   -  Jignesh Mistry

Nithin B ruled the sprint events in boys U-21, racing to a coveted double in style on the fourth and final day of athletics at the Khelo India Youth Games on Sunday.

Gliding smoothly round the bend, the Tamil Nadu athlete won the 200m title clocking 21.57 seconds. He had earlier taken the field by surprise in the 100m dash, timing 10.76s.

T Dineshwari returned home with the second sprint gold at Balewadi stadium bagging a win in the girls U-21 200m, returning a time of 24.58 seconds. The lanky Karnataka athlete had climbed the podium two days ago, to receive the 100m gold after clocking 11.99s.

Meanwhile, Anshul from Delhi also bagged two silvers in U-17 boys (second place in 200m in 21.93s and second place in 100m).

On the other hand, Maharashtra boys U-21 relay team was disqualified in 4x400 m relay event.

Anchor runner Abhijeet Hirkud was penalised for pushing and the gold medal was taken away from the host.

Kerala and Tamil Nadu quartets got an upgrade from silver and bronze to gold and silver respectively.

Maharashtra, Kerala and Tamil Nadu faced the starter, the controversial incident happened around the final bend when runners jostled for space in the burst for the tape.

Kerala and TN runners lost balance, Abhijeet surged from third to first, taking advantage of the loss of pace among the other two staggering to the finish.

The results:

Boys U-21 200m: 1. Nithin B (TN) 21.57s. 2. Amit Yadav (JH) 21.73. 3. Abhinav C (KER) 21.76.

4x400 boys U-21: 1. Kerala (Abhinandh Sundaresan, Tigin T, Sarath S, Sabin Sathyan) 3:22.37. 2. Tamil Nadu (Bhikam Singh Yadav, S Veera Raghavendran, K Avinash, Sree Kiran) 3:24.57. Maharashtra (disqualified).

Girls U-21 200m: 1. T Dineshwari (KAR) 24.58s. 2. V Subha (TN) 24.60. 3. Ancy Sojan (KER) 24.81.

Support Sportstar

Dear Reader,

Support our journalism — where text and pictures intermingle so seamlessly — and help us scale up your experience as the world changes around us. Your contribution is vital to our brand of uninfluenced, boots-on-the-ground reportage that’s worth your while. Clickbait sensationalism is not for us, but editorial independence is — we owe it to you.