Mushtaq Ali T20: Chahar's five-for powers Rajasthan over Karnataka

A spectacular five wicket haul from pacer Deepak Chahar powered Rajasthan to a 22-run win over Karnataka in the Syed Mushtaq Ali T20 match on Tuesday.

Washington Sundar claimed two wickets with the ball (file image)   -  C.V. Subrahmanyam

Deepak Chahar has a knack of making headlines. The Rajasthan pacer, who had hogged the limelight in his Ranji Trophy debut by claiming eight wickets for 10 runs and enabling Rajasthan to bundle out Hyderabad for 21 in 2010, scalped a rare T20 five-wicket haul to help his team stun a star-studded Karnataka by 22 runs in a Mushtaq Ali Trophy super league match at the Jadavpur University ground here on Tuesday.

After being put in to bat, Rajasthan rode on its top order batsmen’s fine contributions to reach 160 for eight. A 47-run opening stand between Aditya Garhwal (31 off 19 balls) and top-scorer Ankit Lamba (58 off 47) followed by a 67-run partnership between Lamba and Salman Khan (20 off 18) allowed Rajasthan to register a competitive total. Lamba struck his six fours in his crucial innings.

Deepak’s magnificent showing and career best figures, five for 15, shut out Karnataka for 138 runs. Karnataka’s chase got off to a torrid start when Lamba bowled Karun Nair in the first over before Deepak wreaked havoc. He bowled a good line around the off-stump and struck in his second over, castling R. Samarth and having Abhimanyu Mithun caught behind in consecutive deliveries.

Deepak, who took four wickets in five balls, was once again on a hat-trick in his third over when he had C. M. Gautam was caught by Lamba and Stuart Binny was trapped in front. By the end of Deepak’s first spell, 3-0-9-4, Karnataka was tottering at five for 24.

Chahar returned to complete his five-wicket haul by dismissing Karnataka captain R.Vinay Kumar. Aniruddha Joshi fought defiantly to score 73 off 45 balls, containing eight fours and three sixes, but could not prevent Karnataka from succumbing to its second successive defeat.

-Washington guides TN to win-

Washington Sundar’s fine all-round performance guided Tamil Nadu to a crucial five-wicket win over Uttar Pradesh at the Eden Gardens. Washington picked up wickets of an in-form Suresh Raina (61 off 41, 6x4, 1x6) and Rinku Singh (11) in death overs to apply the brakes on Uttar Pradesh’s progress.

Washington Sundar (33 off 30, 3x4) batted sensibly to score 35 runs with fellow opener Bharath Shankar (30 off 19, 6x4) and 64 with Sanjay Yadav (52 off 32, 2x4, 3x6) to put Tamil Nadu on a firm footing. N. Jagadeeshan (20 not out off 11) provided the finishing touch.

The scores

At Jadavpur University ground:
Group A: Rajasthan 160 for eight in 20 overs (Ankit Lamba 58, Aditya Garhwal 31, Sreenath Aravind three for 25, Vinay Kumar two for 29) bt Karnataka 138 in 20 overs (Aniruddha Joshi 73, Deepak Chahar five for 15, C.P. Singh two for 31)

Group B: Bengal 170 for six in 20 overs (Sudip Chatterjee 51, Vivek Singh 32, Shreevats Goswami 26, Manoj Tiwary 25, Kulwant Khejroliya two for 25, Pradeep Sangwan two for 27) bt Delhi 167 for eight in 20 overs (Dhruv Shorey 84, Lalit Yadav 45, Sayan Ghosh three for 24, Kanishk Seth three for 25).

At Eden Gardens:

Group A: Mumbai 174 for eight in 20 overs (Suryakumar Yadav not out 59, Siddhesh Lad 52, Akhil Herwadkar 31, Stuart Binny three for 36, Shreyas Gopal two for 22) lost to Karnataka 176 for three in 18.4 overs (Mayank Agarwal 77, Pavan Deshpande not out 48, Karun Nair 30, Dhawal Kulkarni two for 36).

Group B: Uttar Pradesh 162 for four in 20 overs (Suresh Raina 61, Shivam Chaudhary 38, Akshdeep Nath not out 38, Washington Sundar two for 32) lost to Tamil Nadu 163 for five in 19.2 overs (Sanjay Yadav 52, Washington Sundar 33, Bharath Shankar 30, Mohsin Khan two for 20, Ankit Rajpoot two for 37).

Group A: Punjab 149 for seven in 20 overs (Mandeep Singh 48, Abhishek Gupta not out 31, Manpreet Grewal 25, Kaushal Singh three for 26, Varun Aaron two for 20) lost to Jharkhand 150 for six in 19.3 overs (Ishan Kishan 54, Kaushal Singh 29, Saurabh Tiwary 24, Brainder Singh Sran two for 19).


For more updates, follow Sportstar on :