India to play 63 internationals in packed 2018-19 season

The team will tour England, Australia and New Zealand during this period.

India’s ongoing season (2017-18) will come to an end with the Nidahas Tri-Nation T20 tournament in Sri Lanka (Bangladesh, being the third team).   -  AP

With an eye on 2019’s ICC World Cup, India will play around 30 One-Day Internationals (ODIs) in an estimated 63 international games across formats, scheduled for the 2018-19 season.

India will also play 12 Test matches during the upcoming season, and 21 Twenty20 Internationals.

India’s ongoing season (2017-18) will come to an end with the Nidahas Tri-Nation T20 tournament in Sri Lanka (Bangladesh, being the third team).

While the Indian cricket calender starts in April, with the cash-rich Indian Premier League (IPL), the national team will start its campaign in June with a short two-match T20I series against Ireland. In the same month, it will host Afghanistan in Bengaluru for the historic one-off Test.

READ: I don’t feel like competing with anyone: Kohli

The marquee two-and-half-month tour of England will start in July and end early September; India plays five Tests, three ODIs and T20Is each. There is a window for the Asia Cup (this edition will be 50 overs) keeping in mind the World Cup, but the date and the venue is yet to be finalised. Asia Cup will have around nine ODIs.

India’s home season will be a short one with the West Indies coming for two Tests, five ODIs and three T20 Internationals during October-November.

ALSO READ: Imperious Kohli targets eight or nine more years after latest heroics

After the tour of West Indies, India will go Down Under to play Australia in four Tests, three T20Is and three ODIs in November-December.

The Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) has taken a policy decision of not playing Test cricket in New Zealand as a 3:30 am IST start to Test matches is not commercially viable for the world’s richest cricket board.

The New Zealand tour, from mid-January to mid February, will have five ODIs and five T20 Internationals. In the second half of February, Australia will come to India for a limited-overs series, where it will play five ODIs and two T20 Internationals.

The curtains will be drawn on the 2018-19 season with Zimbabwe coming for an inconsequential three-match T20I series.

India’s 2018-19 season itinerary

Estimated International Matches - 63

June 2018: vs Ireland (2 T20I) (Away)

June 2018: vs Afghanistan (1 Test) (Home)

July-September 2018: vs England (5 Tests, 3 ODI, 3 T20I) (Away)

September 2018: Asia Cup (Approx 9 ODIs) (Venue and Date yet to be finalised)

October-November 2018: vs West Indies (2 Tests, 5 ODIs, 3 T20I) (Home)

November-December 2018: vs Australia (4 Tests, 3 ODIs, 3 T20I) (Away)

January-February 2019: vs New Zealand (5 ODIs, 5 T20I) (Away)

February-March 2019: vs Australia (5 ODI, 2 T20I) (Home)

March 2019: vs Zimbabwe (3 T20I) (Home).

For more updates, follow Sportstar on :