IPL 2021 player retention: Sunrisers Hyderabad retains Natarajan; releases Allen and Stanlake

IPL 2021: Sunrisers Hyderabad has retained pacers T. Natarajan, Bhuvneshwar Kumar and Khaleel Ahmed and released the likes of Billy Stanlake and Fabian Allen.

T. Natarajan

Sunrisers Hyderabad has retained Indian sensation T. Natarajan for the upcoming edition.   -  Sportzpics/BCCI

Indian Premier League side Sunrisers Hyderabad on Wednesday retained the services of pacers T. Natarajan, Bhuvenshwar Kumar and Khaleel Ahmed for the 2021 edition, which is scheduled to be held between April and June

The side, however, released Sanjay Yadav, Sandeep Bhavanka, Billy Stanlake, Fabian Allen and Yarra Prithviraj.

SRH's mentor V.V.S. Laxman said they had released a couple of foreign players to explore the option of looking at a foreign player who meets the demands and challenges of our team in the coming edition.

ALSO READ| IPL 2021 retention: Rajasthan Royals releases Steve Smith; Sanju Samson to lead the team

“With Jason Holder doing exceptionally well in the last edition we have retained two all-rounders. So, this move of releasing Fabian Allen and Billy Stanlake should give an opportunity to target someone who fits into our scheme of things,” he said.

Despite a slow start to IPL 2020, SRH managed to make the playoffs by finishing third, with 14 points from 14 games. The Hyderabad-based franchise eventually, after beating Royal Challengers Bangalore in the first Eliminator, lost to Delhi Capitals in the final.

IPL 2021 is set to be held between April and May and efforts are on to host the tournament in India.

THE PLAYERS RETAINED: David Warner, Manish Pandey, Kane Williamson, Jonny Bairstow, W Saha, Shreevats Goswami, Priyam Garg, Virat Singh, Rashid Khan, Vijay Shankar, Mohammad Nabi, Abhishek Sharma, Mitchell Marsh, Jason Holder, Abdul Samad, T Natarajan, Khaleel Ahmed, Sandeep Sharma, Basil Thampi, Shahbaz Nadeem, Siddarth Kaul, Bhuvneshwar Kumar

PLAYERS RELEASED: Sanjay Yadav, Sandeep Bhavanka, Billy Stanlake, Fabian Allen and Yarra Prithviraj.


For more updates, follow Sportstar on :