Rohit Sharma crosses 5000 IPL runs, joins Raina and Kohli in select club

MI vs KXIP LIVE: Mumbai Indians captain Rohit Sharma crossed the 5,000 run-mark in the IPL during Thursday's fixture against Kings XI Punjab in Abu Dhabi.

Rohit Sharma breached the 5000-run mark in the IPL on Thursday.   -  BCCI/IPL

Mumbai Indians captain Rohit Sharma crossed the 5,000-run mark in the Indian Premier League (IPL) game between Mumbai Indians and Kings XI Punjab in Abu Dhabi on Thursday.

Rohit reached the landmark with a boundary off Mohammed Shami in the second over after Kings XI Punjab won the toss and inserted Mumbai in to bat. Earlier, Sheldon Cottrell clean bowled opener Quinton de Kock for a five-ball duck with a beautiful outswinger.

FOLLOW LIVE| KXIP vs MI Live Score IPL 2020 Match 13 Abu Dhabi: Rohit reaches 5000 IPL runs, De Kock falls early

READ| IPL 2020 Orange Cap race updated: Top 10 leading run-scorers in UAE

He joins an exclusive group of batsmen with over 5000 IPL runs which includes Virat Kohli (5,426) and Suresh Raina (5,368).

Last season, the Royal Challengers Bangalore skipper became the fastest batsman to breach the 5,000-run mark in the IPL. He got to the milestone with a single off Jasprit Bumrah during the game against Mumbai Indians at the M. Chinnaswamy Stadium in Bengaluru.

Prior to IPL 2019, Kohli had 4,948 runs from 163 matches at a strike-rate of 130.76, including 34 fifties and four hundreds. In 2016, his 973 runs in 16 games came at a strike-rate of 152.03, and at an average of 81.08.

Top 5 batsmen in the IPL

Virat Kohli (Royal Challengers Bangalore): 5,430 in 172 innings

Suresh Raina (Chennai Super Kings): 5,368 in 189 innings

Rohit Sharma (Mumbai Indians): 5,068 in 187 innings

David Warner (Sunrisers Hyderabad): 4,793 in 129 innings

Shikhar Dhawan (Delhi Capitals): 4,648 in 161 innings

For more updates, follow Sportstar on :