Lanka Premier League to start from November 27

The T20 tournament, originally scheduled for November 21 at the Mahinda Rajapaksa International Cricket Stadium in Hambantota, will start five days later.

Published : Nov 05, 2020 19:34 IST

Galle Gladiators has Lasith Malinga as the local icon.
Galle Gladiators has Lasith Malinga as the local icon.

Galle Gladiators has Lasith Malinga as the local icon.

The Lanka Premier League will be held from November 27 to December 17, 2020 and will only be played at the Mahinda Rajapaksa International Stadium in Hambantota.

Sri Lanka Cricket revised the dates after several rounds of meeting with the health ministry officials. The tournament will follow stringent guidelines to keep a check on COVID-19 infections.


“Holding of the tournament in Hambantota and in one venue, enhances our plan of setting up and maintaining an effective bio-secure bubble, and with the approval coming from the government, we are now confident of going ahead with the tournament,’’ said Ravin Wickramaratne, Vice President, SLC and the Tournament Director of the LPL.


Last week, former India international Irfan Pathan signed up for the league. He will be representing Kandy Tuskers.

The new schedule of the tournament will be announced shortly.

Sign in to unlock all user benefits
  • Get notified on top games and events
  • Save stories to read later
  • Access to comment on every story
  • Sign up / manage to our newsletters with a single click
  • Get notified by email for early bird access to discounts & offers to our products
Sign in


Comments have to be in English, and in full sentences. They cannot be abusive or personal. Please abide to our community guidelines for posting your comment