Ranji Trophy: Bengal stares at victory after Dinda five-for

Ashok Dinda's five wickets helped Bengal bowl Railways out for 105 as it took firm control of the match on Day Two of the Ranji Trophy Group A tie in New Delhi.

Ashok Dinda took five for 45 in his 14 overs.   -  PTI (File Photo)

Bengal was well on its way to secure its second consecutive victory and Railways stared at a third straight defeat after two days of their Ranji Trophy Group A match here on Friday.


Ahead on the first innings by 100 runs, Bengal ended the second day at 208 for nine for an overall lead of 308. Going by the fact that 15 wickets fell on this day – one more than Thursday’s tally – the match seems likely to finish with more than a day to spare.

Bengal reinforced its grip on the proceedings soon after Railways resumed at 37 for four. In 62 minutes, Bengal stopped Railways at 105 for a handsome lead in this low-scoring match.

If Railways managed to reach the three-figure mark, it was due to Karn Sharma’s 26-ball 40. The Railway skipper was the last to get out while attempting a third successive six off Sayan Ghosh.

Pacer Ashok Dinda finished with five for 45 in his 69th Ranji match. This was also the 14th occasion when Dinda took five or more wickets in an innings.

When Bengal began its second innings, a score of 200 looked enough to put the match beyond Railways. As it turned out, Bengal just about managed to sneak past its first innings tally of 205, with a wicket still in hand.

Unlike the Bengal medium pacers, Railways did not make the most of the conditions.

No big scores

Bengal openers took time to settle down but failed to score big. Skipper Manoj Tiwary and wicket-keeper Wriddhiman Saha, both out for a duck in the same over in the first innings, faltered after looking good to reach half centuries.

Saha, keen to play a Ranji match after being asked to rest for two matches by India’s chief coach Anil Kumble, hit nine boundaries in his 44 after Tiwary departed for 48, a knock that included seven hits to the fence.

The extended final session belonged to the Railway bowlers who took six wickets for 67 runs after Bengal went to tea at 141 for three.

Medium pacers Karan Thakur and Deepak Bansal were rewarded with three wickets each for their efforts.

For more updates, follow Sportstar on :