Shreyas Iyer, Manish Pandey to lead India A and B

The Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) on Monday announced India A squad for the upcoming four-day games against South Africa A and the Quadrangular series.

Shreyas Iyer will lead India A's charge at the two four-day games against South Africa and the quadrangular series.   -  K.R. Deepak

Indian cricket will test its bench strength as it hosts South Africa ‘A’ and Australia ‘A’ in the coming months.

The selection committee, which met here on Monday, gave opportunity to all the fringe players as they announced the India ‘A’ squad for the two four-day matches against South Africa, starting July 30. They also announced India ‘A’ and India ‘B’ squads for a quadrangular series, beginning on August 17 and featuring South Africa ‘A’ and Australia ‘A’.

READ| Vijay Hazare to precede Ranji Trophy in 2018-19 season

The selectors named Yuzvendra Chahal in the Shreyas Iyer-led India ‘A’ side for the four-day games against the Proteas.

Two left-arm spinners, Axar Patel and Shahbaz Nadeem, will get one match each.

The presence of Rajneesh Gurbani, Navdeep Saini, Ankit Rajpoot and Mohammed Siraj, who did well in the domestic season, will test the pace reserve.

Several players have been named in the India ‘A’ and ‘B’ squads, to be captained by Iyer and Manish Pandey respectively, following their fine performances in the Indian Premier League.

The committee also picked the squads for Duleep Trophy, which will open the 2018-19 domestic calendar on August 17. Faiz Fazal, Abhinav Mukund and Parthiv Patel will be the skippers of India Blue, India Red and India Green respectively.

Wicketkeeper Abhishek Gupta was initially a part of the India Red squad. He was replaced by Akshay Wadkar as he is still serving his eight-month ban for a doping violation. The ban will end on September 14.

The squad for the four-day matches against Australia ‘A’ — to be held in September — will be announced soon.

READ| Earlier start to domestic season ‘unfair’ for most teams?

India ‘A’ squad for two four-day games against South Africa ‘A’: Shreyas Iyer (Captain), Prithvi Shaw, R Samarth, Mayank Agarwal, A.R. Easwaran, Hanuma Vihari, Ankit Bawne, K.S. Bharat (WK), Axar Patel (1 four-day game)/S. Nadeem (2 four-day game), Y. Chahal, Jayant Yadav, R Gurbani, Navdeep Saini, Ankit Rajpoot, Md. Siraj

Squad for quadrangular series vs SA ‘A’ & Aus ‘A’

India ‘A’: Shreyas Iyer (Captain), Prithvi Shaw, R Samarth, Suryakumar Yadav, Hanuma Vihari, Nitish Rana, Siddhesh Lad, Sanju Samson (WK), Mayank Markande, K. Gowtham, Krunal Pandya, Deepak Chahar, Md. Siraj, Shivam Mavi, Khaleel Ahmed

India ‘B’: Manish Pandey (Captain), Mayank Agarwal, A.R. Easwaran, Shubhman Gill, Deepak Hooda, Ricky Bhui, Vijay Shankar, Ishan Kishan (WK), Shreyas Gopal, Jayant Yadav, D.A. Jadeja, Siddarth Kaul, Prasidh Krishna, Kulwant Khejroliya, Navdeep Saini

Duleep Trophy squad

India Blue: Faiz Fazal (Captain), Abhishek Raman, Anmolpreet Singh, Ganesh Satish, N. Gangta, Dhruv Shorey, K.S. Bharat (WK), Akshay Wakhare, Saurav Kumar, Swapnil Singh, Basil Thampi, B Ayappa, Jaydev Unadkat, Dhawal Kulkarni

India Red: Abhinav Mukund (Captain), R.R. Sanjay, Ashutosh Singh, Baba Aparajith, Writtick Chatterjee, B. Sandeep, Akshay Wadkar (WK), S Nadeem, Mihir Hirwani, Parvez Rasool, R Gurbani, A Mithun, Ishan Porel, Y. Prithvi Raj

India Green: Parthiv Patel (Captain & WK), Prashant Chopra, Priyank Panchal, Sudeep Chatterjee, Gurkeerat Mann, Baba Indrajit, V.P. Solanki, Jajal Saxena, Karn Sharma, Vikas Mishra, K. Vignesh, Ankit Rajpoot, Ashok Dinda, Atith Sheth

Support Sportstar

Dear Reader,

Support our journalism — where text and pictures intermingle so seamlessly — and help us scale up your experience as the world changes around us. Your contribution is vital to our brand of uninfluenced, boots-on-the-ground reportage that’s worth your while. Clickbait sensationalism is not for us, but editorial independence is — we owe it to you.

  Dugout videos