Vincy Premier T10 League Final: Breakers win inaugural season, beat Hikers by 20 runs

The Salt Pond Breakers, skippered by West Indies international Sunil Ambris, having scored 100/6 in the first innings, won the thrilling contest by 20 runs.

Desron Maloney and Sunil Ambris

Desron Maloney’s La Soufriere Hikers and Sunil Ambris’ Salt Pond Breakers will meet in the final of the inaugural edition of the VPL T10 2020.   -  Twitter/VPLT10

West Indies international Sunil Ambris led the Salt Pond Breakers to an emphatic 20-run victory in the final of the inaugural edition of the Vincy Premier League on Sunday.

The Hikers could never really take off in the second innings, losing a wicket every over till the seventh. With the run-rate steadily climbing, it became an almost impossible task for the lower-order batsmen to pull off a recovery act before it was too late.

The Hikers' star top-order duo of Salvan Browne and Dillon Douglas failed to deliver on the big day, as they succumbed to the ever-building pressure, with only 14 on the board after two overs. Before one could realise, the Breakers ran through their opponent's middle order reducing it to 49/7 after seven overs of play.

READ | I don’t know where these things come from: Sakshi on Dhoni’s retirement rumours

The Desron Maloney-led side found a spring in its step when Rayan Williams and Jeremy Haywood took Wesrick Strough, the highest wicket taker in the VPL T10 2020, for a ride in the eighth over. However, with 39 runs still required off the last two, it became too much to ask of the duo.

Earlier, Maloney, having won the toss, chose to bowl first at the Arnos Vale Sporting Complex in St Vincent and the Grenadines. The decision initially bore fruit as by the fourth over, three of the strongest Breakers had already been sent back to the pavilion with only 30 runs up on the board.

However, Urnel Thomas and Donwell Hector, who had been pushed down the order, stayed calm under pressure, to take the side to 60/3. After Kenson Dalzell struck twice in the eighth over, Hector continued to fight, until he lost his wicket in the final over, to help post a total of 100/6.

Asif Hooper’s Grenadines Divers had won the third place playoff earlier in the day.

For more updates, follow Sportstar on :