26 female referees in FIFA Women's World Cup 2019

Pierluigi Collina, Chairman of the FIFA Referees' Committee, said all referees were chosen on 'just one criterion: quality'.

Team captains Amandine Henry of France and Sohyun Cho of Korea Republic pose with the match officials prior to the 2019 FIFA Women's World Cup opening match at Parc des Princes.   -  Alex Grimm/Getty Images

As France outclassed South Korea in the FIFA Women's World Cup opener on June 7, Claudia Umpierrez officiated the clash. The referee from Uruguay is one of the 26 female referees who will officiate at women's football extravaganza in France.

A total of 73 match officials - 26 referees and 47 assistant referees - were selected from 42 different countries.

"These referees are here because they earned the right to be here – they are the best. We started out with 300 officials from six confederations and now we have chosen the best 73. We selected them based on just one criterion: quality," said Pierluigi Collina, Chairman of the FIFA Referees' Committee.

RELATED | Germany 1-0 China: As it happened

"We have worked hard for four years, just like the national teams striving for success at this World Cup. It is just as important for us referees to feel and live out our passion for football as it is for players, so that we can enhance and protect the sport’s image," said Massimo Busacca, Head of FIFA’s Referees' Department.

Here is a list of the 26 referees - all women.


Asian Football Confederation (AFC)

REIBELT CaseyAustralia
QIN LiangChina PR
JACEWICZ KateAustralia
YAMASHITA YoshimiJapan
RI Hyang OkKorea DPR


Confederation of African Football (CAF)

LENGWE GladysZambia
ABEBE Lidya TafesseEthiopia


Confederation of North, Central American and Caribbean Association Football (CONCACAF)

CHENARD Carol AnneCanada
BEAUDOIN Marie-SoleilCanada
VENEGAS LucilaMexico
BORJAS MelissaHonduras


South American Football Confederation (CONMEBOL)

Claudia UMPIERREZUruguay
FORTUNATO LauraArgentina


Oceania Football Confederation (OFC)

KEIGHLEY Anna-MarieNew Zealand


Union of European Football Associations (UEFA)

FRAPPART StephanieFrance
STEINHAUS BibianaGermany
STAUBLI EstherSwitzerland
HUSSEIN RiemGermany
KULCSAR KatalinHungary
BRAZ SandraPortugal
PUSTOVOYTOVA AnastasiaRussia
Kateryna MONZULUkraine
ADAMKOVA JanaCzech Republic
For more updates, follow Sportstar on :