FIFA World Cup 2022 draw: How it works, which teams have qualified, rules, streaming information

Football World Cup 2022 draw: Here's all you need to know about the draw, which takes place at the Doha Exhibition and Convention Centre on April 1.

Published : Mar 31, 2022 17:01 IST

The FIFA World Cup will be held in Qatar from November-December.
The FIFA World Cup will be held in Qatar from November-December.

The FIFA World Cup will be held in Qatar from November-December.

The FIFA World Cup 2022 will be the first World Cup in the middle-east and the last one with 32 countries, with FIFA planning to expand the tournament to 48 nations from 2026.

Follow the draw live here:

When and where is the World Cup draw?

The draw is scheduled to happen on April 1 at 9:30 pm IST at the Doha Exhibition and Convention Centre in Qatar.

Where can you watch the World Cup draw ?

The FIFA World Cup 2022 draw will be telecast on Network 18 and will be available on the OTT platform Voot as well as Jio TV .


Which teams have qualified?

  • Host — Qatar
  • UEFA —  Belgium, France, England, Spain, Denmark, Netherlands, Germany, Switzerland, Croatia, Serbia, Portugal, Poland, Wales
  • CONMEBOL —  Brazil, Argentina, Uruguay, Ecuador
  • AFC —  Iran, Japan, South Korea, Saudi Arabia
  • CAF —  Cameron, Ghana, Senegal, Morocco, Tunisia
  • CONCACAF —  Canada, USA, Mexico

Only three of the 32 teams remain to be confirmed for the 2022 FIFA World Cup, with them to be decided through the inter-confederation playoffs and the eliminator between Wales and the winner of Scotland vs Ukraine.

How does the World Cup draw work?

The 32 qualified countries will be distributed into four pots based on FIFA’s ranking as on March 31. The three slots for the sides, which are undecided, will have placeholders for the draw.


What are the rules for the draw?

  • Qatar, being the host, will join the seven best ranked sides in Pot 1 as one of the top-seeded teams.
  • Eight groups of four teams each will be created with one team from each pot to form Groups A to H.
  • Except Europe, no group should have more than one country from the same region.
  • Europe, having 13 slots – the most in the tournament – will be allowed a minimum of one and a maximum of two teams in the same group.

When is the World Cup starting?

FIFA World Cup 2022 starts from  November 21 , with the opening fixture between the host Qatar and another team from Group A. The  kickoff  is set at  3:30 pm  IST.

The World Cup final will be played on  December 18 , with the  kick-off  scheduled for  8:30 pm  IST.

Sign in to unlock all user benefits
  • Get notified on top games and events
  • Save stories to read later
  • Access to comment on every story
  • Sign up / manage to our newsletters with a single click
  • Get notified by email for early bird access to discounts & offers to our products
Sign in


Comments have to be in English, and in full sentences. They cannot be abusive or personal. Please abide to our community guidelines for posting your comment