India vs Qatar: Edwin, Seriton receive maiden national team call-ups

The Indian national team announced a total of 43 players who will join the camp for the World Cup qualifier against Qatar.

Edwin Sydney Vanspaul has played a crucial role in Chennaiyin's road to playoff in ISL this season.

Edwin Sydney Vanspaul has played a crucial role in Chennaiyin's road to playoff in ISL this season.   -  Special Arrangement

Indian national team head coach Igor Stimac named 20 players who will join the camp ahead of the FIFA World Cup qualifier game against Qatar.

Defender Seriton Fernandes (FC Goa), midfielder Edwin Sydney Vanspaul (Chennaiyin FC) and youngster Sumit Rathi (ATK) received their maiden call-ups owing to their impressive performance in the Indian Super League (ISL).

In addition to this, 23 players were called up too. These players will join the first phase of the training camp in Bhubaneswar on March 9 before 20 other players, from four ISL semi-finalist teams, join on March 16.

The 23-man list included defender Sandesh Jhingan and midfielder Jeje Lalpekhlua, both returning from long-term injuries, to be available for selection.

Placed in Group E, India sits on the fourth position with three points from five matches. The Blue Tigers started their World Cup qualifiers campaign with a 2-1 loss to Oman at home but followed it with a goalless draw to Asian champion Qatar, away from home.

The Indian side then secured back-to-back 1-1 draws against Bangladesh and Afghanistan, before losing to Oman in its last qualifier game.

The match against Qatar will be played in Bhubaneswar's Kalinga stadium on March 26. After the Qatar game, a trip to Bangladesh awaits India (June 4) before the final match against Afghanistan at home (June 9).

List of the 20 players who will join on March 16, after ISL final

Goalkeepers: Gurpreet Singh Sandhu, Vishal Kaith, Prabhsukhan Gill

Defenders: Prabir Das, Rahul Bheke, Pritam Kotal, Nishu Kumar, Sumit Rathi, Seriton Fernandes, Mandar Rao Dessai

Midfielders: Edwin Sydney Vanspaul, Brandon Fernandes, Anirudh Thapa, Udanta Singh, Ashique Kuruniyan, Lallianzuala Chhangte, Jackichand Singh

Forwards: Sunil Chhetri, Manvir Singh, Soosai Raj Micheal


List of the 23 players who have been called up on March 9:

Goalkeepers: Amrinder Singh, Subhasish Roy Chowdhury, Md. Rafique Ali Sardar

Defenders: Pratik Prabhakar Chowdhary, Shubham Sarangi, Subhasish Bose, Narender, Adil Khan, Sandesh Jhingan

Midfielders: Rowllin Borges, Amarjit Singh, Jeakson Singh, Nandhakumar Sekar, Lalengmawia, Vinit Rai, Raynier Fernandes, Nikhil Poojary, Mawihmingthanga, Halicharan Narzary, Sahal Abdul Samad

Forwards: Farukh Choudhary, Jeje Lalpekhlua, Liston Colaco


For more updates, follow Sportstar on :