Australia wins Champions Trophy, India falters in shoot-out again

Netherlands won the bronze medal by beating Argentina in the third-fourth-place playoff.

India had to be content with a runner-up spot, with Australia getting the better of it in the final.   -  PTI

World Champion Australia defeated India 3-1 via shoot-off after both teams were locked at 1-1 in regulation time to clinch its second consecutive Champions Trophy hockey title here today.

It was a keenly-contested battle between the two finalists of last edition but once again Australia came out on top in the shoot-out to clinch its 15th Champions Trophy title.

As it happened

India, however, had to contend with a consecutive runner-up finish after failing to get past the Kookaburras in what was the 37th and final edition of the tournament.

Australia took the lead in the 24th minute through a penalty corner conversion by Blake Govers, but India drew parity in the 42nd minute through a field strike by young Vivek Sagar Prasad.

A 1-1 scoreline was what the teams could manage in the regulation time and like last year, the final went into the shoot-off.

Australia came out on top in the battle of nerves, courtesy goalkeeper Tyler Lovell, who evicted three saves to turn out to be the hero.

Host Netherlands clinched the bronze medal defeating Olympic champion Argentina 2-0 in the third-fourth place play-off match earlier in the day.

For more updates, follow Sportstar on :