Facts and figures

MUMBAI'S Mahindra United defeated Kolkata's Mohammedan Sporting 1-0 in the final at the Salt Lake Stadium, Kolkata, to win its maiden Federation Cup title.

Sixteen best teams of India — 12 National League teams and four best second division sides — took part in the 25th edition of the Federation Cup, which was held from July 26 to August 9 at Kolkata.

As many as 35 goals were scored — 19 in the pre-quarterfinals, 12 in the quarter-finals, three in the semi-finals and one in the final — in 15 matches at an average of 2.33 goals per match.

Twentyfive players scored these goals. Mahindra United's Raphael Patron Akakpo finished as the top-scorer with three goals in as many matches.

Biggest victories:

5-0 East Bengal beat Hindustan Aeronautics Limited.

5-0 Mohammedan Sporting beat Salgaocar Sports Club.

4-0 Salgaocar Sports Club beat Indian Bank. 3-0 Mohun Bagan beat JCT Mills. 3-0 Mahindra United beat Air India. Goalless matches:

Churchill Brothers vs JCT Mills (JCT won on penalties).

Mohammedan Sporting vs Mohun Bagan (Mohammedan Sporting won on penalties).

Most goals by a player in a match: 2 Climax Lawrence(Salgaocar) vs Indian Bank.

2 Bijen Singh (East Bengal) vs Hindustan Aeronautics Limited.

2 Chandan Das (East Bengal) vs Hindustan Aeronautics Limited.

2 Sheikh Sanjib (Mohammedans) vs Salgaocar Sports Club.

2 Dipendu Biswas (Mohammedans) vs Salgaocar Sports Club.

2 Renedy Singh (Mohun Bagan) vs JCT Mills.

2 Raphael Patron Akakpo (Mahindra United) vs Vasco Sports Club.

Goal-scorers: 3 — Raphael Patron Akakpo (Mahindra United).

2 — Shanmugam Venkatesh (Mahindra United), Sheikh Sanjib (Mohammedans), Dipendu Biswas (Mohammedans), Renedy Singh (Mohun Bagan), Jose Barreto (Mohun Bagan), Climax Lawrence (Salgaocar), Bijen Singh (East Bengal), Chandan Das (East Bengal).

1 — Bungo Singh (Mohammedans), Syed Rahim Nabi (Mohammedans), Abhishek Yadav (Mahindra United), James Singh (Mahindra United), Anthony Fernandes (Vasco), Krishnan Ajayan (Vasco), Sushanth Mathew (Vasco), Marcos Pereira (Mohan Bagan), Sebastiao Endro (Salgaocar), Samson Singh (Salgaocar) Dipankar Roy (East Bengal), Anthony Fernandes (Air India), Vinay Kuruvilla (Air India), Asif Saheer (State Bank of Travancore), Amit Das (Tollygunge) and Jose Colaco (Dempo).

The results: Pre-quarterfinals:

July 26: Mohammedan Sporting Club 1 (Bungo Singh) beat Indian Telephone Industries 0; Salgaocar Sports Club 4 (Climax Lawrence 2, Sebastiao Endro, Samson Singh) beat Indian Bank 0.

July 27: Mohun Bagan 2 (Marcos Pereira, Jose Barreto) beat State Bank of Travancore 1 (Asif Saheer); Churchill Brothers 0 drew with JCT Mills 0 (JCT won 4-3 on penalties).

July 28: Mahindra United 1 (Abhishek Yadav) beat Sporting Club de Goa 0; Air-India 2 (Vinay Kuruvilla, Anthony Fernandes) beat Dempo Sports 1 (Jose Colaco).

July 29: Vasco Sports Club 1 (Anthony Fernandes) drew with Tollygunge Agragami 1 (Amit Das) (Vasco won 6-5 on penalties).

July 31: East Bengal 5 (Bijen Singh 2, Chandan Das, 2 Dipankar Roy) beat Hindustan Aeronautics Limited 0.

Quarter-finals: July 30: Mohammedan Sporting Club 5 (Sheikh Sanjib 2, Dipendu Biswas 2, Syed Rahim Nabi) beat Salgaocar Sports Club 0. August 1: Mohun Bagan 3 (Jose Barreto, Renedy Singh 2) beat JCT Mills 0. August 2: Mahindra United 3 (James Singh, Shanmugam Venkatesh, Raphael Patron Akakpo) beat Air India 0. August 4: Vasco Sports Club 1 (Sushanth Mathew) beat East Bengal 0


August 5: Mohammedan Sporting Club 0 drew with Mohun Bagan 0 (Mohammedan Sporting won 5-4 on penalties). Mahindra United 2 (Raphael Patron Akakpo 2) beat Vasco Sports Club 1 (Krishnan Ajayan).

Final: August 9: Mahindra United 1 (Shanmugam Venkatesh) beat Mohammedan Sporting Club 0.

— Compiled by S. Pervez Qaiser