Hero MotoSports Team Rally on Wednesday announced its team for the Dakar Rally 2019 to be held from January 6-17 2019.

The team will feature C.S. Santosh, the most experienced Indian Dakar participant, Joaquim Roerigues, the Portuguese star and Oriol Mena, Spanish sensation and ‘Best Rookie of the Dakar 2018’.

This will be Hero MotoSports’ third consecutive Dakar Rally. Over the previous two years, the team has consistently improved its performance at the Dakar.

READ: ‘Finishing Dakar has been my long-standing dream’

Having earned a top-15 finish in 2017, the team secured a top-10 finish in 2018. Now, the team is looking forward to yet another positive campaign. All three riders will ride on the Hero 450RR rally bike.

“This will be my third Dakar with Hero MotoSports and fifth overall. It has been a very exciting three years and I’m geared up for yet another rendezvous with this unique event. I am satisfied with the preparations and look forward to delivering a solid performance," Santosh said.

In its 41st edition, the 2019 Dakar Rally will take the convoy of participants on a 5,000-kilometre coil around Peru, starting and finishing in Lima.

There will be a total of 3,000 kilometers of racing divided between 10 special stages, where 70 per cent of the terrain will be covered in sand.