Hamilton wins Canadian GP

Lewis Hamilton won the Canadian GP ahead of Ferrari's Sebastian Vettel and Valtteri Bottas. This was Hamilton's second victory this season.

Lewis Hamilton is now within nine points of Championship leader Nico Rosberg.   -  AP

Lewis Hamilton secured his second straight victory of the season and his fifth on his favourite circuit on Sunday when he revived his title defence with a memorable triumph at the Canadian Grand Prix.

>Race Centre

The 31-year-old Briton, who ended seven winless months with his victory in Monaco last month, delivered a gutsy and well-judged drive in his Mercedes to recover from a poor start and finish ahead of Sebastian Vettel of Ferrari.

Finn Valtteri Bottas repeated his success of 2015 at the Circuit Gilles Villeneuve when he claimed the Williams team's first podium finish of the season in third place.

Hamilton has now cut teammate Nico Rosberg's lead from 43 points to nine in the last two races to set himself up for a tilt at his fourth title. "Float like a butterfly, sting like a bee. That was for Muhammad," said the Englishman in tribute to the late Muhammad Ali as he drove his victory lap.

Record breaking Dutch teenager Max Verstappen was fourth for Red Bull, finishing ahead of championship leader Rosberg who was fifth in the second Mercedes after a last lap spin.

Kimi Raikkonen finished sixth in the second Ferrari, ahead of Australian Daniel Ricciardo in the second Red Bull and Nico Hulkenberg of Force India. Spaniard Carlos Sainz came home ninth for Toro Rosso and Sergio Perez was 10th in the second Force India. \


1. Lewis Hamilton (GBR/Mercedes-AMG) 1h31:05.296, 2. Sebastian Vettel (GER/Ferrari) at 5.011, 3. Valtteri Bottas (FIN/Williams) 46.422, 4. Max Verstappen (NED/Red Bull) 53.020, 5. Nico Rosberg (GER/Mercedes-AMG) 1:02.093, 6. Kimi Raikkonen (FIN/Ferrari) 1:03.017, 7. Daniel Ricciardo (AUS/Red Bull) 1:03.634, 8. Nico HŶlkenberg (GER/Force India) at one lap, 9. Carlos Sainz Jr (ESP/Toro Rosso) one lap, 10. Sergio Perez (MEX/Force India) one lap, 11. Fernando Alonso (ESP/McLaren-Honda) one lap, 12. Daniil Kvyat (RUS/Toro Rosso) one lap, 13. Esteban Gutierrez (MEX/Haas) two laps, 14. Romain Grosjean (FRA/Haas) two laps, 15. Marcus Ericsson (SWE/Sauber) two laps, 16. Kevin Magnussen (DEN/Renault) two laps, 17. Pascal Wehrlein (GER/Manor) two laps, 18. Felipe Nasr (BRA/Sauber) two laps, 19. Rio Haryanto (INA/Manor) two laps

Did not finish: Felipe Massa (BRA/Williams), Jolyon Palmer (GBR/Renault), Jenson Button (GBR/McLaren)

For more updates, follow Sportstar on :