Marc Marquez wins sixth MotoGP title

There are four rounds of the MotoGP season remaining, but the peerless Marc Marquez has already wrapped up yet another world title.

Published : Oct 06, 2019 14:07 IST

Marc Marquez  won at the last corner in Buriram to become the 2019 MotoGP World Champion.
Marc Marquez won at the last corner in Buriram to become the 2019 MotoGP World Champion.

Marc Marquez won at the last corner in Buriram to become the 2019 MotoGP World Champion.

Marc Marquez wrapped up the 2019 title with four races to spare, as he clinched his eighth overall championships across all classes he has won.

Marquez, who has now been crowned champion in six of his seven seasons at the highest level, edged out Quartararo on the final corner to leave the Frenchman crestfallen.

Yamaha rider Quartararo, who started on pole for the fourth time this season, led for the vast majority of the race only to eventually be passed by Repsol Honda rider Marquez in the closing stages.

There was almost a sensational final twist as Quartararo briefly sneaked back ahead at the final turn, but he could not make the move stick and cut a frustrated figure as Marquez celebrated yet another success.

With four races of the season remaining, MotoGP's dominant figure holds an unassailable 110-point advantage over Andrea Dovizioso, who could only finish a distant fourth.

Only Giacomo Agostini (8) and Valentino Rossi (7) have won more premier-class titles than Marquez, who holds eight MotoGP crowns in all. At just 26, the Spaniard appears highly likely to surpass both men.

Maverick Vinales rounded out the podium on Sunday, while Alex Rins finished just behind Dovizioso in fifth.

The day belonged to Marquez, though, who gradually increased the pressure on Quartararo throughout the race before sealing his latest championship success in style.

TOP 10

1. Marc Marquez (Repsol Honda)
2. Fabio Quartararo (Yamaha) +0.171secs
3. Maverick Vinales (Monster Energy Yamaha) +1.380s
4. Andrea Dovizioso (Ducati) +11.218s
5. Alex Rins (Suzuki Ecstar) +11.449s
6. Franco Morbidelli (Yamaha) +14.466s
7. Joan Mir (Suzuki Ecstar) +18.729s
8. Valentino Rossi (Monster Energy Yamaha) +19.162s
9. Danilo Petrucci (Ducati) +23.425s
10. Takaaki Nakagami (LCR Honda Idemitsu) +29.423s



1. Marc Marquez (Repsol Honda) 325
2. Andrea Dovizioso (Ducati) 215 (110)
3. Alex Rins (Suzuki Ecstar) 167 (-158)
4. Maverick Vinales (Yamaha) 163 (-162)
5. Danilo Petrucci (Ducati) 162 (-163)


1. Ducati 377
2. Repsol Honda 358 (-19)
3. Monster Energy Yamaha 308 (-69)
4. Petronas Yamaha 233 (-144)
5. Suzuki Ecstar 229 (-148)

Sign in to unlock all user benefits
  • Get notified on top games and events
  • Save stories to read later
  • Access to comment on every story
  • Sign up / manage to our newsletters with a single click
  • Get notified by email for early bird access to discounts & offers to our products
Sign in


Comments have to be in English, and in full sentences. They cannot be abusive or personal. Please abide to our community guidelines for posting your comment