AYN bags majority of medals in senior category

Ramya Saravanan pips Nethra Kumanan in the last race to win the women's laser radial crown.

The winners in different classes of the Senior & Youth National sailing championships in Nellore on Monday.   -  K. Keerthivasan

As expected, Army Yachting Node (AYN) bagged majority of medals in the YAI-Senior and Youth National sailing championships, which concluded at the Krishnapatnam Port, here on Monday.

Sweeping the top three positions in RS:X (windsurfing), Finn, 470 and laser standard, Army proved that it is way ahead of the rest. In fact, out of the 18 medals on offer in the senior section, Army bagged 14. With such a strong showing, AYN has shown that its sailors cannot be brushed aside when it comes to selection of players for the forthcoming Asian Games.

READ: Swatantra Singh shines in Finn class

Of all the races scheduled on the last day in the senior category, the women’s laser radial went down the wire between Ramya Saravanan and Nethra Kumanan. Tied at 15 points each, Ramya was adjudged the winner by virtue of winning the 12th and final race, pushing Nethra to the second place. Interestingly, both had six first-place finishes and five second place finishes each.

“It (12th and last race) was like match racing. Trailing at the upwind, I caught up with her at the downward mark. The difference in the end between us was hardly one boat length,” said Ramya.

The International Regatta for youth will be held here from December 27 to 31.

The results (Overall placings)

Finn: 1. Swatantra Singh, 2. Vivek, 3. Naveen Kumar (all AYN).

RS:X (windsurfing): S. Jerome Kumar, 2. Arjun Reddy, Manpreet Singh (all AYN).

49er: C. Sandip Jain-Munna Pandit, 2. Narendra Singh-S.R. Rout (All AYN), 3. Anand Thakur-Vishal Thakur (INSA/NST).

470: 1. P.P. Muthu-Shubham Patel, 2. Ayaz Khan-Mahesh Chandra Yadav, 3. Atul Lende-C.H.S. Reddy (all AYN).

Laser standard: 1. Vishnu Saravanan, 2. Muzahid Khan, Gitesh (all AYN).

Women: Laser radial: 1. Ramya Saravanan (CESC, Pune), 2. Nethra Kumanan (TNSA), 3. Tanu Bisen (NSS, Bhopal).


Optimist: 1. Uma Chouhan (NSS, Bhopal), 2. R. Neelanand (TNSA), 3. Erra Durga Prasad (NBSC); Optimist Green: 1. Eklavya Batham (NSS, Bhopal), 2. Aaryan Anand (TNSA), 3. Affan Mubeen (YCH).

Laser 4.7: 1. Harshita Tomar (NSS, Bhopal), 2. Aniket Rajaram (TNSA), 3. Vivin Vinil (INWTC, Mumbai).

420: 1. Punit Kumar Sahoo-Amit Sahoo (INWTC, Mumbai), 2. Bharath-Pande (Trishna SC, Bengaluru), 3. Shubham Balade-Prabhat Dongre (CESC, Pune).

For more updates, follow Sportstar on :