The World Test Championship (WTC) is a league competition for Test cricket conducted by the International Cricket Council (ICC). It began on August 1, 2019, with the start of the Ashes series with the Edgbaston Test match in Birmingham.

The WTC was initially scheduled for 2013. It was to replace the 2013 ICC Champions Trophy, but had to be postponed due to the ICC’s commitments to its broadcaster and sponsors. Meanwhile, the Champions Trophy was held as usual that year. The ICC then hoped to convince all its full members to switch to a playoff competition between the top four Test teams as per the ICC Test rankings, which was rescheduled for June 2017, with a world Test championship to take place in India in February-March 2021.

RELATED| WTC final preview: Kohli's well-balanced India takes on Williamson's spirited New Zealand

Then, in October 2017, the ICC announced that a Test league had been agreed upon by its members. It would involve the top nine teams playing series over two years with the top two qualifying for a world Test league championship final. The first ICC World Test Championship thus began just after the 2019 50-over Cricket World Cup.

Despite Covid-19 issues, 58 Test matches were played over 23 series, at the end of which India and New Zealand, with the highest points percentages of 72.2 and 70.0, respectively, have earned the right to contest the final in Southampton from June 18-22, 2021.

A look at the performances of all the teams and players involved from August 2019 to May 2021.

Series-by-series results

+ Away series victories.

RELATED| Rishabh Pant, an important man in WTC final

Note: India and England won two away Test series each, while the West Indies won one.

Match and series results summary

+The Pakistan-Bangladesh series was a two-match series, but the teams could play only one.

Points percentage is the points earned/points available.

RELATED| WTC final: If we can play freely, we will get the desired result, says Rahane

Highest individual scores


Leading run-getters


RELATED| WTC Final: Expect both Ashwin and Jadeja to play in Southampton, says Gavaskar

Best bowling in an innings


Best bowling in a match (10-wicket hauls)




RELATED| WTC final: NZ pace pack 'nice problem to have' says coach Stead

Leading wicket-takers


Most successful all-rounders

Note: Stokes also claimed 25 catches.

Note: All records are updated before the start of the WTC final in Southampton.