The 18th senior National beach volley ball championships was inaugurated at the Besant Nagar beach here on Monday.

Around 33 men and 21 women teams feature in the event. The men's teams have been divided into eight groups, and the women's four groups.

Kerala-1 and Telangana-3 men's teams, scheduled to participate, couldn't make it to the competition.

Men's defending champion Andhra Pradesh-2 had a winning start to its campaign, beating Bihar-2 15-7, 15-10 in Group A.

Women's defending champion Tamil Nadu-1 had a winning start too, beating Maharashtra-2 15-4, 15-4. Later, it also beat Chhattisgarh-1 15-3, 15-3.

The Tamil Nadu-1 men's team had a walkover win over Telangana-3, and later beat Odisha-2 15-8, 15-11, in Group G.