Seema bags gold, Indian Greco Roman wrestlers return empty-handed from World Olympic Qualifiers

Tokyo-bound Seema Bisla bagged the gold, while None of India's Greco Roman wrestlers managed to secure a Tokyo Olympics quota at the World Olympic Qualifiers in Sofia, Bulgaria.

Wrestling Mat

Gurpreet Singh was India's best chance but he lost his 77kg pre-quarterfinal in just 48 seconds to 2020 European champion Rafig Huseynov. (Representative Image)   -  Getty Images

Seema Bisla’s doubled her on Saturday as the Tokyo Olympics-bound wrestler ended her campaign in the World Olympic Games Qualifier here by bagging the women’s 50kg gold medal.

Seema, who secured an Olympic quota place on Friday, was awarded the gold after her opponent, Lucia Yamileth of Ecuador, withdrew from the final due to an injury.

RELATED| Indian wrestler Seema Bisla secures Tokyo Olympics berth

Nisha Dahiya (68kg), the other woman wrestler in the fray, lost 5-1 to Turkey's Buse Tosun in a repechage round match.

The Indian Greco Roman wrestlers endured a disappointing day as none of them managed to secure a Tokyo Olympics quota. Sachin Rana (60kg) forfeited his first round bout due to illness, while Ashu (67kg) and Deepanshu (97kg) lost in the first round.

Gurpreet Singh (77kg) and Sunil Kumar (87kg) also lost early but remained in the race for bronze medals at the time of writing.

RELATED| Tokyo-bound Sumit Malik pulls out of World Olympic Wrestling Qualifiers final, settles for silver

The Indian wrestlers gathered a total of eight Olympic quota places, including four apiece in men and women freestyle sections. The country got eight wrestling slots, including three each in men and women freestyle and two in Greco Roman, in the Rio Olympics as well. It could field only seven after Narsingh Yadav (74kg) was suspended by the Court of Arbitration for Sport (CAS) due to a doping violation.

The eight Indian wrestlers who have qualified for the Olympics  are - Seema Bisla (50kg), Vinesh Phogat (53kg), Anshu Malik (57kg) and Sonam Malik (62kg), Ravi Kumar Dahiya (57kg), Bajrang Punia (65kg) Deepak Punia (86kg) and Sumit Malik (125kg).

For more updates, follow Sportstar on :