Delhi Capitals emerged as the champion in the second season of the UBA Pro Basketball League championship when it defeated defending champion Chennai Slam 92-65 for a win in the third of the best-of-three finals to clinch a 2-1 verdict at the Gachibowli Indoor Stadium here on Sunday night.

The winner got Rs. 7 lakhs as prize money while the runner-up Rs. 3 lakhs. Vinay Kaushik of Delhi was named ‘Most Valuable Player’ of the championship. The third season will be held from July 8 in Pune.

Delhi took a quick 9-0 lead in the first quarter to set the tempo with dimunitive forward Ajay Pratap Singh showing his prowess. Soon, the big players Ramesh and Smithin were busy scoring for Delhi. The excellent coordination between Kaushik and Sachin Sharma helped Delhi lead 45-31 at the break.

On resumption, Chennai Slam centre Gopal Ram began the quarter in style with back-to-back buckets but like in the first session, his teammates were found wanting.

On the other hand, for Delhi, Sachin managed to get the basket with effortless ease to the chagrin of Chennai quite frequently. With forward Smithin being effective in the post, Delhi had the liberty to keep attacking while Chennai’s shooting misery continued when it mattered most.

With a comfortable lead of 20, Delhi dominated, literally, the final quarter with the trio of Smithin, Kaushik and Ajay Pratap Singh doing most of the scoring.

The scores: 3rd final (best of three finals): Delhi Capitals 92 (Ajay Pratap Singh 21, Sachin Sharma 10, Vinay Kaushik 19) bt Chennai Slam 65 (Cammy Carmel 22, Gopal Ram 18).