Aeroflot Open Chess: Adhiban begins with win, Praggnanandhaa held to draw

Sixth seed Adhiban (Elo 2654) defeated Sergey Grigoriants in 35 moves, while the 12th seed Sethuraman beat compatriot and GM Raunak Sadhwani in 43 moves.

B. Adhiban (Elo 2654) is the sixth seed in the tournament.   -  BISWARANJAN ROUT

Indian Grand Masters B. Adhiban and S. P. Sethuraman were among the winners in the opening round games of ‘A’ Group at the Aeroflot Open chess tournament Moscow.

Top seed Vladislav Artemiev (Elo rating 2728), the highly-rated 21-year-old Russian, began his campaign in style with a victory over Velimir Ivic in 51 moves late on Wednesday.

Adhiban (Elo 2654), the sixth seed, defeated Sergey Grigoriants in 35 moves, while the 12th-seeded Sethuraman put it past young compatriot and GM Raunak Sadhwani in 43 moves.

ALSO READ| Prague Chess: Vidit Gujrathi, Harikrishna play out draw

There were victories for other Indian players, including N. R. Visakh, Murali Karthikeyan, Deep Sengupta and Bharath Subramaniyam.

Young GM R. Praggnanandhaa was, however, held to a draw by Stefan Pogosyan in his opener.

There are a bunch of 25 Indians, including 14 Grand Masters, participating in the ‘A’ group.

The nine-round Aeroflot Open concludes on February 27.

Important results: Aeroflot Open ‘A’ group:

  • B Adhiban beat Sergey Grigoriants
  • S. P. Sethuraman beat Raunak Sadhwani
  • R. Praggnanandhaa drew with Stefan Pogosyan
  • Vladislav Artemiev (Russia) beat Velimir Ivic
  • Sandipan Chanda drew with Sanan Sjugirov
  • Deep Sengupta beat Nodirbek Abdusattorov
  • N. R. Visakh beat Arvind Chithambaram
  • Bharath Subramaniyam beat Mikhail Antipov
  • SL Narayanan drew with Kiril Stupak
  • Karthikeyan Murali beat Mihajlo Radovanovic
For more updates, follow Sportstar on :