National women's chess championship: Divya stops Nisha to join seven leaders

Divya Deshmukh joined seven other leaders at 3.5 points after four rounds of MPL National women chess championship.

Published : Feb 26, 2022 21:47 IST

File image of Divya Deshmukh.
File image of Divya Deshmukh.

File image of Divya Deshmukh.

Eighth seed Divya Deshmukh took her time to end former champion Nisha Mohota’s in 79 moves and joined seven other leaders at 3.5 points after four rounds of MPL National women chess championship at Bhubaneswar on Saturday.

Other leaders were top seed R. Vaishali, Mary Ann Gomes, Soumya Swaminathan, N. Priyanka, Arpita Mukhjeree, Srija Seshadri and Sakshi Chitlange.


Important results:

Fourth round: N. Priyanka (3.5) drew with R. Vaishali (3.5); Soumya Swaminathan (3.5) drew with Sakshi Chitlange (3.5); Mary Ann Gomes (3.5) bt V. Sarayu (3); Michelle Catherina (3) drew with Padmini Rout (3); Pratyusha Bodda (3) drew with P. Bala Kannamma (3); Nisha Mohota (2.5) lost to Divya Deshmukh (3.5); Arpita Mukherjee (3.5) bt K. Sai Nirupama (2.5); Isha Sharma (3) drew with B. Mounika Akshaya (3); Smaraki Mohanty (2.5) lost to Srija Seshadri (3.5); Bristy Mukherjee (3) drew with Saina Salonika (3); Bhakti Kulkarni (3) bt Chandreyee Hajra (2).

Third round: Vaishali bt V. Varshini (2); Sakshi bt P. V. Nandhidhaa (2); Mary drew with Michelle; Srishti Pandey (2) lost to Soumya; Padmini drew with Nisha; Mounika drew with Pratyusha; Swati Ghate (2) lost to Priyanka; Kannamma drew with Arpita; Nirupama drew with Isha; Sarayu bt Parnali Dharia (2); Srija drew with Bristy.

Sign in to unlock all user benefits
  • Get notified on top games and events
  • Save stories to read later
  • Access to comment on every story
  • Sign up / manage to our newsletters with a single click
  • Get notified by email for early bird access to discounts & offers to our products
Sign in


Comments have to be in English, and in full sentences. They cannot be abusive or personal. Please abide to our community guidelines for posting your comment